Downtown Los Angeles, circa 1983

Downtown Los Angeles, circa 1983
STMcC in downtown Los Angeles, circa 1983

Saturday, September 9, 2017

“F” Stands For: FANTASTICALLY FAR-FETCHED FEMINIST FANTASY FLICK

.
[*This review was originally published at Amazon.com 
on Thurs. Jan. 18th, 2007*]
.
.
GIRLFIGHT
directed by Karyn Kusama
released: 2000
.
Karyn Kusama’s GIRLFIGHT is nothing more than a strident misandrist pleasuring herself on film!
.
Ordinarily, I would never consider wasting my valuable time watching this type of movie, much less bothering to write anything about it, but because I recently wrote a series of reviews for some mostly older anti-Feminism books, it was suggested to me that I should also “weigh in” on GIRLFIGHT, which I had previously never even heard of.
.
Written and directed by then-newcomer Kusama, the title, GIRLFIGHT, is simply a rather pedestrian substitution for “Woman’s Struggle”, that is, “Feminism.” Her title displays the same sort of “heavy-handed” touch that she exhibits throughout the movie. As a filmmaker, Kusama has all the subtlety of a Great White Shark in a feeding frenzy. The movie consists of one “ham-fisted” symbol after another, decrying all of the usual exaggerated and simplistic contentions regarding men that radical Feminists have been screeching about for over forty years; illustrating the feminist anthems; and portraying resolutions dreamed up in their wishful fantasies.
.
It should come as no surprise to any educated person that GIRLFIGHT won a couple of awards at Robert “Red” Redford’s Sundance Film Festival in 2000; the incestuous relationship between Marxism and Feminism has long been established, and GIRLFIGHT was bound to be enthusiastically embraced at Sundance, and promoted as another vehicle for further conditioning the masses -- particularly young women -- toward the Socialistic goals of hard-core feminism. (If you want to turn off your TV one day and read a nonfiction book, The Gender Agenda by Dale O’Leary, or The Privilege Of Being A Woman by Alice von Hildebrand, would be a smashing place to begin.) It was, after all, no less a Communist than Vladimir Lenin himself who stated in 1920, “We must create a powerful international women’s movement.” (Was keeping the spectators seated and talking during the singing of The Star-Spangled Banner before GIRLFIGHT’s climactic bout a Marxist “jab” at America?)
.
* Although I will not be discussing anything that the majority of the previous reviewers have not already revealed, be advised that this review will examine the major plot points and the ending of GIRLFIGHT. If you don’t want to know how this movie ends, you should discontinue reading this review.
.
Ostensibly, the story is about a high school girl, Diana Guzman (Michelle Rodriguez), who, prone to violent outbursts, redirects her aggression by taking up boxing and ultimately confronts her emotionally abusive dad, and then later, her boyfriend in the ring. The entire movie is simply a kaleidoscope of embarrassingly overt visual metaphors meant to convey the concept of Patriarchy getting pummeled to a pulp by Womanhood, and the castration of perceived masculine power. (Diana or Artemis, the goddess of the hunt, is portrayed in mythology as having killed various men and male gods.)
.
Early on, we get a barely veiled glimpse of Diana’s (writer/director Kusama’s mouthpiece) disdain for the traditional role of women in society when she stares out of her 11th story bedroom window at a mother pushing a baby carriage with a crying toddler in tow. That she’s “looking down on Motherhood” couldn’t have been more obvious.
.
There are three “types” of one-dimensional men (or malignancies) in this movie. (The “father”, the “son”, and the “emasculated ghost”?)...
.
#1) The domineering, emotionally and physically abusive male determined to “keep women in their place.” This type of man is represented by Diana’s drunken dad, and in a typical exhibition of Kusama’s over-the-top symbolism, he is knocked around and nearly strangled to death by Diana in the family’s kitchen (after she has received some boxing training). Get it? A woman’s place is in the kitchen, but only if that’s the location she chooses for bloodying the Patriarchy! “You belong to me now! ... All these years you just looked right through me”, Diana says to her beaten dad on behalf of women everywhere.
.
#2) The unfaithful romancer who refuses to accept women on equal terms in every single facet of social endeavor. He is represented by Diana’s love interest, Adrian, who dreams of “winning” his way out of the projects with a successful boxing career. Giving him the name of Rocky Balboa’s wife was an obvious slap at the character and at men in general who express their manhood through a fascination with sports and sports movies. That slap becomes a punch, however, when 18-year-old Diana, with perhaps two months worth of training, defeats 19-year-old Adrian in the ring -- despite the fact that he’s been training for nearly a year, and supposedly has true professional boxing potential. (In a sorry display of how far Kusama was willing to go to get the most “punch for the buck”, she wants us to believe that these two characters would be fighting in the same weight class. Never mind that Adrian is obviously 6” taller than Diana and appears to outweigh her by about 40 pounds. It simply wouldn’t do to have the Feminist hero defeat a man merely her own size!)
.
#3) Diana’s brother, Tiny, is the way men ought to be in Kusama’s warped world. He is artistic, sensitive, effeminate, satisfactorily de-masculinized already. He is tolerable because he is pathetic, as he can do nothing but stand back, wring his hands, and plead for his dad’s life, while the “new” man (Diana GuzMAN -- get it?) strangles the “old” man in the kitchen and usurps his authority (i.e., transforms the Patriarchal family unit into a Matriarchy). 
.
But in an ironic twist, Kusama also reveals her revulsion at the feminine man as well, by naming him TINY. Diana’s brother is neither excessively large or small for his age, so we must assume that the name hints at something else: His unmanly “endowments” literally or figuratively; his diminished social status in the imagined new Matriarchy; or simply Kusama’s personal view of such effete men?
.
GIRLFIGHT begins with one of the silliest opening shots ever conceived. (Diana Guzman looks up and glares directly at the camera, i.e., at “you”, the viewer. Why? Uh, well, because Kusama told her to.) And it ends with one of the most improbable scenes ever filmed: After losing to her in the ring -- bringing his dream of a boxing career to an end -- Adrian practically begs Diana not to break up with him. This shows just how out-of-touch with reality and Male Psychology these extreme Feminists really are. If such a scenario as presented in this movie were even truly possible, does Kusama and her Feminist horde actually believe that a “man” in this situation would REALLY want to retain his romantic relationship with his female conqueror? That he would be willing to take a licking and keep on kissing?) GIRLFIGHT is indeed a Feminist fantasy from the opening bell to the final round.
.
It does, however, contain a few positive ingredients: Technically, the screenplay is competently constructed and well-paced, and some of the cinematography is imaginative. The score nicely compliments the images and adds an exotic tone. Herb Lovelle as Cal is good in a very small part, and Jaime Tirelli in the role of Diana’s trainer, Hector, delivers a fine, multi-layered performance. However, having read the script, no self-respecting “man” would have consented to appear in this propaganda piece. (But divesting men of their self-respect has been a goal for Feminists for over forty years now, and they’ve been largely successful.) Otherwise, the acting was uneven across-the-board. This was Rodriguez’s first role, and it sometimes showed.
.
I could excoriate the artificial dialogue, the nonstop profanity, and the sloppy editing in GIRLFIGHT, but that would be like criticizing a dead dog for being lazy. Instead, let me give you one small dose of reality: Men generally possess nearly 50% more muscle mass than women, and testosterone (a steroid hormone which studies have linked to enhanced aggressiveness and increased muscle formation) is approximately thirty times more prevalent in the adult male body than it is in the adult female. (That’s 30 times, not 30%!) In other words, there are genuine physiological reasons why women trained in boxing are never going to be serious competition for men trained in boxing -- Karyn Kusama’s fantasy notwithstanding. (Don’t blame me; blame God. But your arms are too short to box with Him.) 
.
Lucia Rijker is universally regarded as the best fighter in the history of female boxing; she has had 54 fights with women and won them all -- most by knockout. In earnest competition, she stepped into a ring only once with a man: In 1995, she fought Muay Thai boxer Somchai Jaidee, who was far from being a world elite fighter in the men’s competition. Rijker managed to survive the first round but in the second round, she was laid out on the canvas, unconscious for several minutes. (If she didn’t have a clue about Women Vs. Men in Boxing when she climbed into that ring, I’m sure she had one when she woke up in it!)
.
What disturbs me is not that a misandrist would put her neurosis on film (wrong, Cyndi -- these days, “Girls Just Want To Be Boys”), but that anyone would tout this fiction as some kind of inspiring movie to be shown to youngsters -- THAT'S what bothers me! As if Diana Guzman represents some viable means to conflict resolution in the real world. My heart goes out to any child of a rigor mortis-brained parent who believes that “fighting” -- even in a square “ring” -- is the best way to channel aggressive behavior. 
.
When my Brother (nicknamed “Napoleon”) was only about 12 years old, a professional trainer recognized that he possessed a chip on his shoulder the size of Mount Rushmore and an almost freakish, innate aptitude for fighting. This man offered to prepare my Brother for a professional boxing career. Being an Irish-American fighting in sub-Middleweight divisions, and being as proficient in physical destruction as he is, Napoleon would have made many millions of dollars as a successful boxer. But even at that young an age, he was intelligent enough to recognize the senselessness of making a living knocking other guys senseless, and so he turned down the trainer’s offer. Instead, he was able to sublimate his anger without needing to unleash it on others in any harmful form. With his fiery energy redirected into more constructive activities, he eventually grew into a very good and caring man (who could still decapitate any one of us with either fist, though he would never do so).
.
That anyone would show GIRLFIGHT to a young person as motivation for anything, and would hold up this fictional character as a role model for young women to emulate in any way, is deplorable and irresponsible! GIRLFIGHT is not just a Feminist cartoon fantasy masquerading as a gritty, urban tale -- it’s a bad cartoon with bad language and a bad agenda, and that’s a bad “combination.” This crappy movie is out for the count!
.
~ Stephen T. McCarthy
.

Thursday, August 24, 2017

KOZ AND (ill) EFFECT!

.
[This review originally appeared at Amazon.com back... whenever it appeared there.]
.
.
SAXOPHONIC
by Dave Koz
released: 2003
.
If a person thinks that this is great Jazz, it is only beKOZ they have never listened carefully to Louis Armstrong's mournful trumpet on Moon River; Joe Morello's qwazy, quirky drumming in Take Five; Ben Webster's deeply soulful tenor sax on Bye Bye Blackbird; or Irvin Fazola's far too brief but sweetly swingin' clarinet solo in Glenn Miller's Doin' The Jive.
.
A friend of mine recently loaned SAXOPHONIC by Dave Koz to me, thinking that I would like it. I won't reveal the identity of Melanie Felson because it might embarrass her, but I returned her CD with a yellow Post-It note attached saying, "Hate is not strong enough a word."
.
I managed to listen through THE SOUND OF THE UNDERGROUND before deciding I would not subject myself to any more of this. Our individual karma applies the corrective measures to the transgressions in our lives as a natural consequence of cosmic law; self-flagellation is unnecessary!
.
Here in the country's 5th largest megalopolis, we are devoid of high culture. Phoenicians believe that Taco Bell serves authentic ethnic cuisine, and that the library contains too many books and not enough DVDs. Our most highly esteemed artisans create those lucite-encased scorpion paperweights, and we are proud of the fact that we are the only state to feature Roadrunner on our Roadkill Menus. We don't have a LEGITIMATE Jazz station here, but there is 95.5 KYOT. (Get it? COYOTE! Only here in Phoenix are sports teams and radio stations named after scrawny, scavenging desert dogs!) If the F.C.C. ever banned Kenny G and Dave Koz from the airwaves, KYOT would be forced off-the-air.
.
Comparing the muzak of Koz on SAXOPHONIC to Jazz is akin to comparing Kraft Velveeta to aged, Wisconsin cheddar; or Spam to a freshly sliced Easter ham! It's just processed, predigested, puerile puree! I can't find a single original or emotionally genuine phrase here; just mawkishness infested with synthesized drum and bass programming polished to a highly commercialized sheen, making it so slick that it slides off the CD player's spindle! This is "McJazz" at its unhealthiest.
.
In the liner notes, Koz wrote, "My saxophone took me on quite a musical journey this time out -- from the sound of the underground clubs of Europe to the beats of American Hip-Hop." In other words: exactly what he thought would SELL! SELL! SELL!
.
Nope, I'm not a Jazz Snob. I wouldn't deny this "music" its right to exist, nor its fans their right to listen and enjoy it. I would only hope that they would expand their musical horizons to discover more honest, heartfelt music.
.
Suppose you're ready to move beyond KOZAK, but you are not sure you're ready for the challenging time signatures of a Dave Brubeck. I've got the perfect musical "bridge" for you -- The PAT METHENY GROUP! Pick up LETTER FROM HOME, STILL LIFE TALKING, or FIRST CIRCLE -- any one of these three. Trust me on this one! Put it into your car player and let it repeat over and over again for as long as it takes. 
.
It may all sound alike initially, but on the day that you find yourself suddenly and unexpectedly whistling or humming the distinctive and wonderful melody of each musical piece, you'll know that you finally "got it!" Then you'll think: "Stephen T. McCarthy IS a blockhead, but he DID turn me on to some nice music!" Feel free to send yer gratitude in the form of a monetary donation to my Retirement Fund. No denomination too large!
.
Cheerio, my good Brothers and Sisters. Cheerio!

~ Stephen T. McCarthy
.

Sunday, August 20, 2017

THE U.S.A. WILL BE CALLED ON THE CARPET FOR TITLE X!

.
[This Review Originally Published On JULY 31, 2006.]
.


.

AMERICAN LIFE LEAGUE
The Life Guide Series -- Vol. 4
"The Facts About Title X:
The Six Billion Dollar Scam"
by Judie Brown
copyright: 1997
.
Although I'm not Catholic, through the years I have made monetary contributions to American Life League (ALL), a Catholic antiabortion organization which publishes quality literature in support of the pro-life movement. (One magazine in particular that would be beneficial to teens regardless of Christian denomination is called, 'REALITY CHECK.') Several years ago, ALL sent me Volumes 1-4 of their 'Life Guide Series' as a premium in appreciation for my years of support.
.
Volume 4, 'THE FACTS ABOUT TITLE X: THE SIX BILLION DOLLAR SCAM' is dedicated "to all the innocent human beings who have fallen victim to U.S. Government population control programs. May God forgive our nation!"
.
I feel that a better plea would be for wisdom and enlightenment, regardless of what means God must use to bring them about... even if it requires severe judgment and wrath upon our nation, which it surely deserves.
.
This booklet of 82 pages was well worth reading as it made me aware of some IMPORTANT FACTS about Title X that I did not learn in my previous 45 years. I'll share some interesting facts with you that I gleaned from my reading:
.
* WHAT WAS THE STATED PURPOSE OF THE TITLE X PROGRAM? Title X of the Public Health Service Act was passed first in 1970 and was called the Tydings Act. The argument in 1970 for passing this bill was that the bill was needed "to reduce the number of illegitimate births and the medical and psychological complications for both mother and child often resulting from them." [page 3]
.
* HAS THE TITLE X PROGRAM ACHIEVED ITS STATED OBJECTIVES? According to the Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Reference Data Book and Guide to Sources, the rates of out-of-wedlock births among teenage girls (ages 15-19) in the United States are as follows:


1940: 5.8%
1950: 5.3%
1960: 7.0%
1970 (Title X funding for family planning begins): 22.4%
1980: 27.6%
1990: 38.1% (This booklet was published in 1997) [page 4]
.
* WHERE DOES THE TITLE X MONEY GO? The recipients of Title X funds include state health departments, affiliates of Planned Parenthood Federation of America, and other facilities that provide birth control counseling, birth control devices, health education services and sex education. School-based clinics, and off-campus clinics designed to provide counseling on matters relating to reproductive health also receive funding from Title X. [page 4]
.
* TITLE X AND ABORTION: IS THERE REALLY A CONNECTION? There is. The program funds abortion -- thousands of abortions. Title X provides funding for chemical abortions as well as funding for organizations that promote abortion... An abortifacient is a chemical or a device that causes abortion in the first days or weeks of a human being's life in the womb. Title X provides funding for the provision of these birth control methods that act, at least partially, to abort. Therefore, Title X does fund abortion. [page 5]
.
* Since 1970, Title X has gone through many revisions and amendments, but none have altered the underlying goal, which is clearly to serve the pro-population-control agenda of the organizations that benefit from the funding. Planned Parenthood is among the chief recipients of those taxpayer dollars. [page 10]
.
* Contraceptive, generally, means a device (e.g., a condom) that prevents conception. For Planned Parenthood it is a euphemism for chemicals and devices that can cause abortions at very early stages in a preborn child's life (i.e., Birth Control Pill, IUD, Norplant, Depo-Provera and RU-486).
.
* The National Longitudinal Study of Youth, 1988-1992, reports that by age 13, 8.6% of youth are sexually active; by age 14, 17.7%; by age 15, 31.2%; by age 16, 54.9%; and by age 17, 68.6% of youth are sexually active. [page 14]
.
* The annual number of divorces has tripled from 393,000 in 1960 to 1.2 million today. [page 18]
.
* "YOU DECIDE" -- When considering sexual involvement, Planned Parenthood tells adolescents, "[T]he only question is What's right for you? You decide... Don't borrow your decisions. Make up your own mind." (from 'Teen Sex? It's OK To Say No Way', No. 99, 5/84, published by Planned Parenthood Federation of America.) [page 19]
.
* The U.S. Centers for Disease Control notes that 28.6% of teens had premarital sexual relations in 1970 and that this increased to 51.5% by 1988. [page 27]
.
* GEORGE MOSBACKER: "From 1971 to 1981 there was a 306% increase in federal expenditures on family planning with a corresponding 48.3% increase in pregnancies and a 133% increase in abortions for women aged fifteen to nineteen... Those states with the highest expenditures on birth control ... showed the largest increases in abortions and illegitimate births between 1970 and 1979." [page 33]
.
* CELIA DESCHIN: "If there is a teenage culture and if youth takes its cues from the peer group, it is a reflection on adults and their abdication of responsibility for setting standards and providing guidance to help young people adhere to those standards. To expect each and every adolescent to be able to do this for himself and by himself suggests a flight from reality. If then today's adolescents -- those known to be engaging in sexual activities premaritally -- see in sexual involvement a major area in which to find security, this should not be so surprising in light of the models of behavior presented to them by the mass media and what they observe around them." [page 35]
.
* Planned Parenthood's own data indicate that, despite increased use of birth control devices, "both the number of illegal abortions and the number of unintended pregnancies are reported to be very high." This is obviously due to the failure rate of the devices and the fact that people, especially teenagers, will engage in sex more frequently if they think they are protected. With this increase in sexual activity comes a corresponding increase in abortions, sexually transmitted viruses, and other health problems. [page 50]

.
The older I've gotten and the more politically and Spiritually aware I have become, the less respect I have for the government of my nation. And as I look around me, I'm forced to conclude that common sense in my countrymen is now so uncommon that it really should be valued more highly than any precious metal or gemstone. 
.
It makes me so doggone angry that my government takes money from me in the form of taxes and turns it over to organizations that commit murder (and that's what it is, regardless of the fact that our supremely ungodly Supreme Court has declared it legal). Make no mistake about it people, there is a Supreme Being whose authority is superior to our Supreme Court and one day -- probably in the not too distant future -- our country will answer to Him for Title X.
.
~ Stephen T. McCarthy
.

2017 Review Update:
I urge everyone -- no, in fact, I BEG everyone -- to take just 7 minutes out of their lives to click on and watch the following video...
.
Tucker Carlson interviews Abby Johnson 
(former Planned Parenthood manager)
"We have monthly abortion quotas"
Link...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eYW6hEsktYY
.

Monday, August 14, 2017

WHEN YOU LOSE RESPECT FOR ONE LIFE, YOU LOSE RESPECT FOR ALL LIFE

.
[This Review Originally Published On JULY 31, 2006.]
.

.
AMERICAN LIFE LEAGUE
The Life Guide Series -- Vol. 3
"The Facts About Abortion"
by Judie Brown
copyright: 1998
.
Although I'm not Catholic, through the years I have made monetary contributions to American Life League (ALL), a Catholic antiabortion organization which publishes quality literature in support of the pro-life movement. (One magazine in particular that would be beneficial to teens regardless of Christian denomination is called, 'REALITY CHECK.') Several years ago, ALL sent me Volumes 1-4 of their 'Life Guide Series' as a premium in appreciation for my years of support.
.
Volume 3, 'THE FACTS ABOUT ABORTION' is dedicated "to every mother who welcomes God's blessing in the reality of His child within her."

.
This booklet of 117 pages was well worth reading as it made me aware of some IMPORTANT FACTS about abortion that I did not learn in my previous 45 years. I am single; always have been single and -- looking like a corpulent bulldog with a glass eye and a nervous tic (pun alert!) -- I probably always will be single. And since my religious convictions exclude premarital sex, the information I found herein will not likely impact my lifestyle. But since it may be relevant to your circumstances, I'll share some interesting facts with you that I gleaned from my reading:
.
* Sir A. William Liley said in 1977: "The baby or zygote with his cargo of genetic information is much more than a mere blueprint of a new human being. A blueprint is simply a plan, and does not include the machinery to fulfill that plan -- but a zygote does." [page 6]
.
* Week 6 -- The brainwaves of this little boy [or girl] can be recorded. His [her] different muscles begin working together.
.
Week 8 - His [her] fingers and toes are fairly well defined, and fingerprints, a unique and defining feature of every human being, are permanently engraved on his [her] skin. All of his [her] organs are present, complete, and functioning (except the lungs). Fifty percent of the abortions performed in America take place between now and Week 9. [page 8]
.
* Month 4 -- Rapid eye movement (REM) can be recorded, indicating that he [she] is dreaming.
.
There is no question that a unique human being exists from the moment fertilization occurs. If this little person is left undisturbed, he [she] will grow and flourish. [page 9]
.
* Abortifacient birth control includes the Pill, Depo-Provera, Norplant, and the intrauterine device (IUD). Other methods of chemical abortion, also known as medical abortion, include: RU-486, methotrexate + misoprostol and the "morning-after-pill" -- a mega-dose of birth control pills designed to prevent implantaion of a newly-conceived child. [page 16]
.
* Many of the methods of birth control that are most popular today (and those that are currently being developed, including the anti-pregnancy vaccine) do by chemical what surgical abortion does by instrument: they kill tiny boys and girls. They are not designed to protect a woman from pergnancy but are designed to eliminate the child if the child is conceived. [page 63]
.
* It is clear that the U.S. Supreme Court, lower courts and most politicians view abortion only in terms of women's rights and as a matter of the ideology of political correctness. The reality of the child as a human being totally escapes most of them. We, the people of this nation, have allowed this to happen. We have failed to focus constantly on whose life is at stake when a mother seeks the abortion of her child. It is a serious mistake to expect the Supreme Court to reverse itself and hand down a ruling that would restore the basic moral and biological truth that it has ignored and distorted for more than 30 years. [page 31]
.
* Dr. John F. Brennan wrote: I have delivered babies for over 50 years. I have never encountered a pregnancy where an abortion would have "saved the life of the mother." [page 36]
.
* Choosing to do what is wrong is not choice. It is license ... The pro-aborts who cry "keep the government out of the bedroom" are the same ones who got the government in. [page 58]
.
* One human being's rights should stop short of threatening the rights of another. That is why no woman should have the right to abortion -- an act that kills a human being. The preborn baby is not part of the mother's body; he or she should not be devalued because of where he or she lives. [page 61]
.
* Dr. Albert Schweitzer devoted his life to Africans afflicted with leprosy. He taught that when you lose respect for one life, you lose respect for all life. It appears he was correct. [page 66]
.
* There is strong evidence that having an abortion can increase the risk of breast cancer, especially if the woman's first pregnancy is aborted. [page 70]
.
* Expectant mothers who have had previous abortions have a 200 percent increased risk of miscarriage. [page 71]
.
* The claim of 5,000 to 10,000 deaths per year from illegal abortion in the 1960's is totally false. Dr. Bernard Nathanson, a physician, former abortionist, founder of the National Abortion and Reproductive Rights Action League and author of 'ABORTING AMERICA' wrote: "In 1967... the federal government listed only 160 deaths from illegal abortion. In 1972, the total was only 39 deaths ... hardly an overwhelming rate." [page 72]
.
* The California Medical Association ... said less than three years before Roe v. Wade ... "The result has been a curious avoidance of the scientific fact, which everyone really knows, that human life begins at conception and is continuous whether intra- or extra-uterine until death." [page 96]
.
* Lost in most of the Roe and Doe decisions is the object of abortion -- the preborn child. While the Court refers to a pregnant woman as a "mother", it refers to the baby in the womb as "the developing young" or "potential life." [page 94]
.
And that reminds me of one of my own observations of many years ago (which so impressed my Brother when I mentioned it to him). When a woman who was looking forward to motherhood loses a child in miscarriage, she always loses the "baby". You would never ever say to her, "I'm so sorry about the loss of your fetus". And yet political correctness dictates that we refrain from saying that a woman aborted her "baby" -- suddenly the baby is referred to as a mere "fetus". It's odd (and very sad) how that works, isn't it?
.
~ Stephen T. McCarthy
.

Wednesday, August 9, 2017

THE LATIN WORD FOR BABY IS...

.
[This Review Originally Published On JULY 31, 2006.]
.

.
AMERICAN LIFE LEAGUE
The Life Guide Series -- Vol. 2
"The Facts About Birth Control"
by Judie Brown
copyright: 1997
.
Although I'm not Catholic, through the years I have made monetary contributions to American Life League (ALL), a Catholic antiabortion organization which publishes quality literature in support of the pro-life movement. (One magazine in particular that would be beneficial to teens regardless of Christian denomination is called, 'REALITY CHECK.') Several years ago, ALL sent me Volumes 1-4 of their 'Life Guide Series' as a premium in appreciation for my years of support.
.
Volume 2, 'THE FACTS ABOUT BIRTH CONTROL' is dedicated: "To all those who have been deceived by the birth control movement and victimized by the sexual revolutionaries of our day.".
This booklet of 74 pages was well worth reading as it made me aware of some IMPORTANT FACTS about birth control that I did not learn in my previous 45 years. I am single, I always have been single (and since the "lady" seems to be extinct in my country), I probably always will be single. And also since my religious convictions exclude premarital sex, the information I found herein will not likely impact my lifestyle. But since it may be relevant to your circumstances, I'll share some interesting facts with you that I gleaned from my reading:
.
* In 1970, the federal government authorized and funded the first government birth control program. Shortly thereafter, in 1973, the Supreme Court struck down all laws prohibiting abortion. It was clear that the proponents of birth control had won the cultural argument. No longer would people have to worry about the moral implications of acting against nature, because the government was in charge of the question. [page 5]
.
* Over the last 30 years, for example, the number of known venereal diseases has grown from 5 to 50. The divorce rate has skyrocketed. The number of out-of-wedlock pregnancies has risen, and in America alone, there are more than one million surgical abortions each year. In addition, millions of unseen abortions occur because of the ways in which certain types of birth control actually work. [page 5]
.
* True contraceptives never cause abortions. The only true contraceptives are condoms, diaphragms and spermicides. [page 8]
.
* Birth Control: An action taken to control the onset of pregnancy -- or to control the outcome, if pregnancy does occur, by ending the pregnancy before the baby is born. The Pill, the IUD and other methods act not only against pregnancy but also against the newly-conceived baby. [page 9]
.
* Far from being a check to the sexual revolution, contraception is the fuel that facilitated the beginning of the sexual revolution and enables it to continue to rage. In the past, many men and women refrained from illicit sexual unions simply because they were not prepared for the responsibilities of parenthood. But once a fairly reliable contraceptive appeared on the scene, the barrier to sex outside the confines of marriage fell. The connection between sex and love also fell quickly. [page 13]
.
* Fertilizaton: A person begins the first day of his or her life within the mother's body. At this point the 23 chromosomes carried by the sperm and the 23 chromosomes carried by the egg combine to form a new one-cell human being, or human embryo, containing 46 chromosomes. The new person is called a human zygote. Each of the 46 chromosomes is composed of genes, or units of DNA, that contains all of the genetic information of the new person. No genetic information is either gained or lost. The zygote is already genetically an individual human being and a "he" or a "she." [page 20]
.
* Oral contraceptives work in three different ways. They:


1) prevent ovulation (release of an egg from the ovary);
2) cause changes in the cervical mucus, which block or slow the travel of the sperm; and
3) prevent implantation of the newly conceived baby into the lining of the mother's womb, thus causing an abortion. [page 23]
.
* While more than 50 percent of all marriages end in divorce, it is very rare for spouses using Natural Family Planning to divorce (2 to 5 percent). [page 48]
.
* Call it a fetus if you will. Just don't forget that "fetus" is the Latin word for "baby". [page 73]
.
While I obviously find the use of abortifacients repugnant and would urge only the use of "true contraceptives" (i.e., condoms, diaphragms and spermicides), I must state that I oppose the Catholic dogma against the use of true contraceptives within a marriage as stated on page 70: "The first universal legislation by a Pope against contraception, contained in the Decretals of Gregory IX (4.5.7) contained Si conditiones; it declared null any marriage entered into with a condition of avoiding children."

.
It states on page 50 that, "We must, as human beings and children of God, be aware of the illicit practices promoted in a society that has lost its moral compass. How can we expect more from the younger generation than we have given them when we have consciously taken moral absolutes away from them?" No argument from me on THAT point.
.
One cannot put a price on the information in this booklet, particularly if it saves the life of an unborn child and/or prevents the ruination of a girl's youth.
.
Dr. William Lynch, who taught Ob-Gyn at Tufts Medical College... never wearied of reminding not only his students and his patients but anyone else who would listen to him that "It takes ten years to know what a new discovery will do for you and it takes twenty years to find out what it will do TO you." [page 72] That's a very perceptive observation. It's now been 33 years since abortion was declared a legally acceptable form of murder in the so-called "civilized" United States, and it's been about 43 years since "The Pill" helped usher in "The Sexual Revolution." Take a good look around you and see what these loveless things have done TO us. To quote Warren Zevon: "It Ain't That Pretty At All."
.
~ Stephen T. McCarthy
.

Tuesday, August 8, 2017

THE FACTS OF LIFE: Teaching An Old Dog New Tricks

.
[This Review Originally Published On JULY 31, 2006.]
.

.
AMERICAN LIFE LEAGUE
The Life Guide Series -- Vol. 1
"The Facts Of Life"
by Judie Brown
copyright: 1998
.
Although I'm not Catholic, through the years I have made monetary contributions to American Life League (ALL), a Catholic antiabortion organization which publishes quality literature in support of the Pro-Life movement. (One magazine in particular that would be beneficial to teens regardless of Christian denomination is called, 'REALITY CHECK.') Several years ago, ALL sent me Volumes 1-4 of their 'Life Guide Series' as a premium in appreciation for my years of support.
.
Volume 1, 'THE FACTS OF LIFE' was evidently written with young adults in mind, though anyone might benefit from reading it. The primary goal of 'THE FACTS OF LIFE' is to explain the process of fetal development, with a focus on illustrating why "fertilization" MUST be considered the point at which human life begins. Promoting chastity in a world that has gone sexually mad is another purpose for this 80-page booklet's publication.
.
Some of the information I found most enlightening:
.

* At the moment you were conceived, the information contained in one single strand of your DNA held as much information as 33 volumes of the Encyclopedia Britannica. [page 3]
.
* From the moment when the sperm makes contact with the ovum ... all subsequent development to birth of a living newborn is a fait accompli. That is to say, after the initial contact of sperm and egg there is no subsequent moment or stage which is held in arbitration or abeyance by the mother, or the embryo, or the fetus. Nor is a second contribution, a signal or trigger, needed from the male in order to continue and complete full development to birth. [page 19]
.
* A world-famous geneticist, Dr. Jerome Lejeune, the man who discovered the extra chromosome 21 which causes Down Syndrome, once said that "If a fertilized egg is not of itself a full human being, it could not become a man, because something would have to be added to it, and we know that this is impossible." [page 19]
.
* There are no two people on this earth who are exactly the same; every human being has his own unique "bar code", and that bar code is present at fertilization. [page 24]
.
* WEEK 8 - His fingers and toes are fairly well defined, and fingerprints, a unique and defining feature of every human being, are permanently engraved on his skin ... Fifty percent of the abortions performed in America take place between now and Week 9. [page 26]
.
* MONTH 4 - This little baby's heart is pumping six gallons of blood every day ... Rapid eye movement (REM) can be recorded, indicating that he is dreaming. [page 26]
.
* The decision to abort is a criminal act against the laws of nature. [page 33]
.
'THE FACTS OF LIFE' contains an Appendix A, B, and C, which are brief essays addressing interrelated topics. I felt that the first one on chastity by Ronald Lawler was rather mundane, although the second one on chastity by Mary Beth Bonacci, and Appendix C on The Connection Between Contraception And Abortion by Janet E. Smith had some very interesting ideas to share -- even though I part ways with Smith in her denouncing contraception in marriage. And by contraception, I mean the use of condoms, diaphragms, and spermicides ONLY! Naturally, I oppose the use of the other types of "contraceptives" which are in actuality abortifacients. (More on that in Volume 2, 'THE FACTS ABOUT BIRTH CONTROL'.)
.
One cannot put a price on the information in this booklet, particularly if it saves the life of an unborn child and/or prevents the ruination of a girl's youth. If your choice is to buy this at full price or do without it, I'd say make the purchase, though I'd first recommend you try to acquire a used copy at a discount.
.
The one statement made by Lawler in Appendix A which really got my attention was this: "Our world suffers in countless ways from its lust. It will return to wiser ways when it can bear its pain no more."
.
Of course, our world suffers in countless ways from more than just lust; there's other forms of selfishness and egotism, materialism, ignorance, and more. Lawler is right: Only when the world can bear these pains no longer will it collectively turn back to God. Although I firmly believe that we are quickly nearing the end of God's patience.
.
~ Stephen T. McCarthy
.

Thursday, August 3, 2017

“UHP! I’M AN IDIOT.”

.
.
BOSSA NOVA FOR LOVERS
by Various Artists
released: 2003
.
The last time I went home to Los Angeles -- (You remember, I told you THAT story in my review for the Huffy Good Vibrations Men's 24-Inch Cruiser Bike. Are you paying attention here, or not?) -- I called the BITTER BROTHERS and arranged a “Bitter Breakfast.” That’s a meeting where a bunch of us macho fellas -- er, I mean, “Men” -- get together to blow off steam over quiche and champagne. Uhm, that is, over Huevos Rancheros and strong, black coffee. (Let’s be honest, the “blowing off steam” part could just as easily be called “Male Gossip”, but... well, you know, I’ve faked a pretty good masculine facade for myself up to this point, and I’d hate to see it all go to ruin now.)
.
So, me an’ my Bitter Bros were expressing our bitterness at The Sidewalk Café on Venice Beach one morning (perhaps the definitive “L.A. Experience”) and observing the Frisbee-catching dogs, the rays-catching one-eighth dressed roller-skating babes, and the usual Carnival of Human Freaks parading on the boardwalk past the Café, when I noticed this young cat playing some pretty fancy guitar over yonder. My soul emptied of its bitterness, and my glass emptied of its champa-- er... my cup emptied of its coffee -- I went to talk to the young cat and learned that he was a Russian bloke named VADIM, and I bought one of his self-produced compact discs. 

[“Vadim #1”; vadimrecords at yahoo dot com, or (310) 801-4212]
.
Well, I eventually just went crazy for track three: “Bossa-Nova”. And having heard the term about a godzillion times (that’s a lot!), I decided I simply must find out just what BOSSA NOVA really is. So I did an internet search and what I learned is that I have been in love with Bossa Nova music for pretty much my entire life without ever knowing it. 

{*He’s a tad slow, folks, but give him four and a half decades and he’ll figure it out.*}
.
You see, as a young kid in the early and mid-1960s, when the Bossa Nova craze was at its zenith, my Grandpa used to play it around his house. My Ma had an 8-Track tape (yeah, I’m bitter AND old, OK?!) containing the gorgeously haunting song “The Shadow Of Your Smile”. I loved it, and the song still makes me think of her. Wait a second...  

 {*Macho fellas don't get teary-eyed, Stephen!*} ... 
.
Sorry. OK, where was I? ... Oh, yeah. ... Then later, in my mid-20s, I owned the classic Jazz album “Getz/Gilberto” on Licorice Pizza (that’s LP, not 8-Track!) and I played the hell out of it (well, I would have if there had been any hell in it), falling in love with the beautiful saudade in Astrud Gilberto’s voice. (Saudade? Look it up on Wackypedia.) Only Karen Carpenter’s voice was infused with more, and -- in my opinion -- the standard ballads by Bobby Darin are the only example of Saudade in a male voice. (Despite the jocular exterior, my entire life is one of Saudade, but I don’t know you well enough to tell you more.)
.
Then love came to me again in the form of Pat Metheny’s three brilliant Brazilian-influenced albums, “The First Circle”, “Still Life Talking”, and “Letter From Home”. About the same time, I owned a Cannonball Adderley album that included “Clouds” and “Morning Of The Carnival” and they were my favorite cuts, but I couldn’t have told you why exactly. I also loved Vince Guaraldi’s “Cast Your Fate To The Wind” from his “Jazz Impressions Of Black Orpheus” album, but the Bossa Nova connection eluded me. And when my Good Friend Melanie gave me Angelique Kidjo’s “Black Ivory Soul” recording, I loved it immediately from the first few notes down to the very last ones, and I rarely embrace new music that quickly. But I still hadn’t made the Bossa Nova Connection. 

.
It took a Russian cat playing Brazilian music on a California beach to make this American dude finally realize that the thread running through it all has always been Bossa Nova, and that Bossa Nova is the thing I dig! Hey, it required only 43 years for me to piece it all together -- I’m just a mental dynamo! 
{*“Uhp! He’s an idiot.”*}
.
So, I just bought BOSSA NOVA FOR LOVERS, and here’s my assessment of each of its 16 tracks:
.
1. VIVO SONHANDO: Classic! I remember this one from my Getz/Gilberto album. Stan was one of the first major Jazz cats I got into.
.
2. WAVE: Wow! I’ve just learned that Antonio Carlos Jobim is the musician who transformed Samba into Bossa Nova.
.
3. THE SHADOW OF YOUR SMILE: [Sniffle! Sniffle!] I want Astrud to sing this one at my funeral.
.
4. CORCOVADO: Not the version from the Getz/Gilberto set, but nice guitar from Almeida, and Getz really plays that tenor sax! 

{*Yeah, but can he pitch?*}
.
5. MY FOOLISH HEART: Marry me, Astrud! I promise I can learn to behave myself!
.
6. AMOR EM PAZ: Sheesh! Talk about Saudade. Love it!
.
7. MISTY ROSES: Makes me misty. Astrud, play Misty for me.
.
8. DESAFINADO: Jobim is the Boss of Nova.
.
9. SO NICE (SUMMER SAMBA): Oh, gee, I swear, I melt. One of my very favorite tracks. Too short! More! More!
.
10. WINTER MOON: “Winter” warms my heart. “Great Getz!”
.
11. INSENSATEZ: Well, let’s face it, along with “The Girl From Ipanema”, this is the face of Bossa Nova.
.
12. DINDI: Astrud sings. What else ya need to know?
.
13. BAHIA: Cool!
.
14. THE GIRL FROM IPANEMA: I prefer the version with Getz and Astrud, of course, but great melody regardless.
.
15. O GRANDE AMOR: Beautiful!
.
16. MEDITATION: I dunno. Let me contemplate it further.
.
I see that I used the word “love” seven times in this review. I don’t ordinarily use that kind of language, but the collection IS called “BOSSA NOVA FOR LOVERS”, and I guess I’m a lover after all. 

{*Nah. He’s an idiot.*}
.
~ Stephen T. McCarthy
.

Sunday, July 30, 2017

HE WASN'T LYIN': HE WASN'T DYIN', THANKS TO CAYENNE!

.
.
LEFT FOR DEAD
by Dick Quinn
published: 1992
.
Shortly after moving to Phoenix in 1995, I took a job in a health food store. I had not been there long when one day a gentleman approached and asked if we carried GRANULAR LECITHIN. I took him back to the refrigerated section, and in the course of conversation, he happened to mention being (as I recall) 80 years old. Well, I almost fell over! Never in my life had I met a person who looked so much younger than their age! Many people have told me that I look considerably younger than 45 (I always respond that I'm pickled from the years I spent LIQUIDATED on "Mad Dog" 20/20, Night Train, Thunderbird and other fine wines), but this guy was in a league by himself!
.
I called the assistant manager over and told her to guess his age. Like me, she nearly hit the floor upon learning that her estimate of 50 was 30 years shy of the truth. I wondered if it was genetic, but he said that neither his parents nor his siblings exhibited the same trait. He attributed it to LECITHIN, which was the only dietary supplement he had been using religiously for many, many years.
.
Not long after, I purchased Dick Quinn's book, 'LEFT FOR DEAD', which includes a chapter on Lecithin and explains the 12-Day Flush. Lecithin is a type of water-soluble fat derived from eggs and soybeans. Experts say the Choline in Lecithin liquifies cholesterol and dissolves arterial deposits. From the book: Lecithin is "contained in all the cells and organs of the body. Lecithin makes up 30 percent of the dry weight of the brain. ... Lecithin breaks up fat and cholesterol into little particles and suspends them in the blood stream. ... Without Lecithin to keep the fat and cholesterol soluble it collects on the artery walls. ... Choline is one of the few substances able to break through the brain blood barrier. ... Fledgling research indicates that Choline from Lecithin may be able to boost memory and counteract depression and dementia traced to a deficiency of acetylcholine."
.
Check the ingredients of ANY candy containing chocolate and you'll find Lecithin listed. Without Lecithin, the fat would separate from the cocoa and coagulate. The Lecithin keeps it all in a smooth, liquified state. It does the same thing in your bloodstream, preventing plaque buildup in the arteries which results in heart attacks and strokes. While the 12-Day Flush (3 heaping tablespoons of granular Lecithin taken once a day for 12 days) may have a mild laxative effect on some people, it is actually designed to clear clogged ARTERIES.
.
In 2002, my Mom suffered a small stroke. Afterwards, I remembered what I had learned in 'LEFT FOR DEAD', and -- unbeknownst to her doctor -- two weeks before a scheduled test to determine the degree of blockage in her carotid artery, I convinced my Mom to go on the 12-Day Flush as an experiment. When the doctor got the test results, she was quite surprised to find that the blood flow through my Mom's arteries was similar to what she usually found in 17-year-olds, and she was at a loss to explain how the stroke had occurred in the first place. Because we didn't have a test done PRIOR to the Flush, I can't unequivocally prove that the Lecithin was responsible for the unexpected results. You can draw your own conclusions.
.
In 1992, Dick Quinn wrote, "I had a double coronary bypass about 14 years ago -- four times longer than a bypass is supposed to last. The comedian Jackie Gleason had his first bypass the day I had mine. He subsequently had three more. Then he died. ... According to 'modern medicine', I should be dead now, but I am very much alive, thanks entirely to 'ancient medicine.' My bypass was actually a failure from the very first. It closed within a week. Herbs reopened my arteries and saved my life. ... If I die tomorrow, that's OK. I'm already a winner, years ahead of the game." 
.
Well, Mr. Quinn lived another 3 years, and when he did die, it wasn't from heart failure, but from an entirely unrelated ailment that had been diagnosed 17 years earlier.
.
If you want to regain or maintain your good health, I strongly recommend that you read his book, 'LEFT FOR DEAD'. Also read 'WORLD WITHOUT CANCER' by G. Edward Griffin, 'ALIVE AND WELL' by Dr. Philip Binzel, Jr., and 'YOUR BODY'S MANY CRIES FOR WATER' by Dr. F. Batmanghelidj.
.
If you want to preserve your youthful appearance, I recommend imbibing copious amounts of cheap wine, gin, sake 'n' suds. But substitute Lecithin if you want to preserve your liver, too!
.
~ Stephen T. McCarthy
.

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

EVERY COWBOY NEEDS A HORSE!

.
.
GOOD VIBRATIONS Bicycle (Cruiser Model)
by Huffy
purchased: circa 1984
.
Where would Roy Rogers have been without Trigger? Where would The Lone Ranger have been without Silver? And Pecos Bill without Widowmaker, or Doc Holliday without Big Nose Kate? The indisputable fact is that every cowboy needs a horse to ride. And what with the price of gasoline and oats these days, is it any surprise that many of us urban cowboys have shifted to the two-wheeled variety of equine transportation?
.
The other day –- just on a whim -- I did an Amazon.com search to see if anything would come up when I entered in the name and style of my deeply beloved bicycle, THE HUFFY “GOOD VIBRATIONS” model cruiser. How exuberantly surprised I was to find myself staring at a photograph of my lovely, faithful “steed.” It’s still being made. Hooray! “Classic” cruisers are still in and I’m still astride mine (even if the “fenders” are long gone).
.
Let me tell you about my bike: I bought my Huffy “GOOD VIBRATIONS” cruiser at Pep Boys in downtown Santa Monica, California, circa 1984. (It looks identical to the one pictured above.) I’ve probably logged over 144,000 miles on mine. I used to pedal it every day before work on the beach bike path for exercise and for just the pure joy of it. My favorite ride took me from underneath the Santa Monica Pier, through the human carnival of Venice Beach, around the boat slips of Marina Del Rey, and along the sand through El Segundo, Manhattan Beach, Hermosa Beach, Redondo Beach, to the outskirts of Torrance, and then back again. Or to put it more succinctly: My favorite ride was Heaven on Earth!
.
And note: With the barest minimum of maintenance, I’m still riding on “GOOD VIBRATIONS”. Yeah, uh-huh, that’s right. About 33 years after buying my bike (for approx. the same price it’s being offered for today) it and I are still the best of friends. I’m still planting my “cushions” on its seat and still pedaling along the canals, to the horse track, or to the grocery store, or to work. Now, how many years have you been driving your car? Think you’ll get 33 years out of it? Will you get 33 years out of your job? How ‘bout your marriage? Yeah, what I’m saying is that “GOOD VIBRATIONS” last and last...
.
But I had a real scare recently: The bearings in the doohickey that connects to the thingamajig had gotten wrecked and the handlebars were loose in the whatchamacallit. (I rode it that way for over a year anyway.) Finally I took it in to a bike shop and “Homeboy” tells me to throw my best friend into a dumpster. “Homeboy” says it can’t be repaired. According to “Homeboy” the bike was basically junk when brand new and that the fork could break on me at any moment and put me in the hospital. Feeling certain that GOOD VIBRATIONS” could never hurt me, I put my buddy in the bed of my truck and drove it from Phoenix, Airheadzona, to Santa Monica, California, for one last beach bike path ride. I figured that if it broke on me along the way, I’d just leave it on the beach to R.I.P. (Rust In Pieces).
.
Well, we made it from the Santa Monica Pier to Torrance and back, just like the good ol’ days! The other riders could hear us comin’ up on ‘em because “GOOD VIBRATIONS” was loudly going “SQUEEEK – KREEEK – RATTLE – GROAN! SQUEEEK – KREEEK – RATTLE – GROAN!” Other bikers probably thought he was crying in pain, but I recognized those sounds for what they really were: SINGING!  JOYFUL SINGING!
.
Back home, Good Friend Melanie suggested that I take “GOOD VIBRATIONS” to see the nice, old gentleman who owns ROADRUNNER BIKE CENTER in Glendale, AZ. Two weeks later and only $34.59 lighter, “GOOD VIBRATIONS” is as good as new and ready to hit the canals again as soon as the weather cools down! (Why that dirty dog at the first bike shop! I think “Homeboy” just wanted to sell me some newfangled, multi-geared “horse.”)
.
Only one thing concerns me: My bike is clearly labeled “HUFFY -- MADE IN U.S.A.” But nowhere on the Amazon.com Product Page do I see the country of origin mentioned. Are “GOOD VIBRATIONS” still made here, or are they now produced in China? I urge you to investigate before buying because “GOOD AMERICANS” don’t financially support Coummunist countries that utilize slave labor, threaten their neighbors, imprison the religious, and force abortions on their women, right? Right?
.
Sometimes only poetry can express a cowboy’s love for his “horse.”
.
O my Bike, O my Horse

We’ve ridden thirty-three years
You have carried me through
Times of joy and times of tears
.
We’ve traveled city streets

And journeyed along the strand
I rarely gave you oil
You never bitched ‘bout the sand
.
Leaving California
You never said, “This is bad!”
You never once complained
(Though I kinda wish you had)
.
You never bucked me off

Never trampled on my hide
Never had a headache
When I said I’d like to ride
.
You are my “Black Beauty”
You are truly my best friend
I’ll shout it from rooftops
Though others I might offend
.
Because of you alone

I have known excitations
And more than The Beach Boys
You give me Good Vibrations
.
I feel so close to you

You are almost like my kin
Throw you in a dumpster?
No, I’ll throw that “Homeboy” in!
.
(Link:] A Cowboy Needs A Horse
.
~ Stephen T. McCarthy
.

Friday, July 21, 2017

“JOURNALISM’S AYATOLLAHS OF POLITICAL CORRECTNESS.” [Page 102]

.
.
BIAS:
A CBS Insider Exposes How The Media Distort The News
by Bernard Goldberg
published: 2001
.
“Before September 11, the media elites, too often, behaved badly. And they will again”, BERNARD GOLDBERG writes on the first page of his important and impressive book, BIAS. “It is, after all, who they are.”
.
I must begin by saying how much I respect and admire the courageous Mr. Goldberg. This is a self-professed “liberal”, a man who acknowledges that he had never voted for a Republican candidate for president in his entire life! And yet, he put his liberal ass on the line when he publicly confessed and complained about liberal bias in the news media. Not the liberal values mind you -- those he mostly endorsed -- but the bias, the way the media distorts the truth to manipulate the perceptions of the (easily manipulated) masses.
.
Writing BIAS was not an act of courage, as that came after Goldberg’s retirement from CBS, when he could not be hurt by the revelation, and could only benefit from the book sales. No, his great act of bravery and neck-outta-the-turtle-shell honesty came in the form of a 1996 Wall Street Journal op-ed piece in which he criticized his industry for its underhanded practices while he was still dependent upon that industry for a paycheck. Goldberg is the proverbial dog who bites the hand that feeds it. And in short order, he was treated like a cur, given a one-way ticket to Pariahville. But he expected as much and did it anyway because he believes in fair play. Though politically, Goldberg and I have next to nothing in common, if I ever met him at Jolly Jacks, I’d buy the man a “Kocktale”. He’s a rare breed in today’s world of politics.
.
The two factors that make this book a watershed publication on this subject are 1) that the exposure of the media’s Leftist slant (yeah, a “slant” like a “lien” on the truth) comes not from a protesting Conservative, but a dyed-in-the-wool lib, and 2) the slant is not just admitted but illustrated -- illustrated with unimpeachable examples and research into how, and how many times, certain socially important stories were framed and deliberately hung crookedly in the media museum for all the world to see. (You know, like this... ;-) See the Left-leaning reporter wink? That wascally weporter winks ‘cawse he pulls the wiberal wool over yer TV-satuwated eyebawls.)
.
But what I liked was the book’s tone -- it’s both humorous and hard-hitting. Goldberg pulls no punches on his old cronies. Consider these examples:
.
* “If arrogance were a crime, there wouldn’t be enough jail cells in the entire United States to hold all the people in TV news.” [Pg. 186]
.
* “They love diversity in the newsroom. That’s what they say, anyway. They love diversity of color, diversity of gender, diversity of sexual orientation. But God forbid someone in their diverse newsroom has a diverse view about how the news ought to be presented. When that happens, these champions of diversity quake in their boots and practically make in their pants.” [Pg. 32]
.
* “I know that homelessness ceased to exist because I watch television news. If homeless people still existed, Dan and Tom and Peter would have them all over the news ... I could be wrong, but I think homelessness ended the day Bill Clinton was sworn in as president. Which is one of those incredible coincidences, since it pretty much began the day Ronald Reagan was sworn in as president. What are the odds?” [Pg. 71]
.
In blowing the whistle on the Liberal bias of both print and broadcast news sources, Goldberg tells us that “everybody to the right of Lenin is a ‘right-winger’, as far as the media elites are concerned. [Pg. 13] ... liberals have an uneasy feeling about tax cuts in general and are downright hostile to the kinds of cuts that benefit the wealthy in particular, even if they also help a lot of other Americans ... [liberal opposition to the flat tax] was visceral, from the same dark region that produces envy and the seemingly unquenchable liberal need to wage class warfare.” [Pg. 19]

.
Do you realize what Goldberg just called liberals (whether he really meant to or not)? Well, if you’re not educated enough to figure it out, I’m not going to spell it out for you. Like hell I’m not! C-O-M-M-U-N-I-S-T-S. There! It’s out! Now maybe we can make some real progress in this political debate between Liberalism and Conservatism, America.
.
The only aspect of Golberg’s BIAS that I must take issue with is his insistence that “there isn’t a well-orchestrated, vast left-wing conspiracy in America’s newsrooms.” He writes, “It is not some sinister plot, but about how mostly liberal journalists tend to frame stories from a mostly Liberal point of view ... No, we don’t sit around in dark corners and plan strategies on how we’re going to slant the news. We don’t have to. It comes naturally to most reporters.”

.
I have no doubt that’s true. But by his own admission, members of the media “vote overwhelmingly Democratic.” [Pg. 118]; “By and large, the media elites, really are liberal. And Democrats, too.” [Pg. 122]; that there is “a disproportionate number of liberals” in the media [Pg.120]; and “in the world of media elites, Democrats outnumber Republicans by twelve to one.” [Pg. 124]
.
No “left-wing conspiracy”? Hey, I didn’t just fall off the “potatoe” truck, ya know? (A nod to Dan Quayle there. An aside: You wanna learn how to spell better than a U.S. vice president? Just remember it this way: MR. POTATO HEAD only gets an “e” when he’s hangin’ out with other “potatoes.” Likewise his Marxist/Feminist girlfriend, MS. TOMATO HEAD. She only gets an “e” when she’s hangin’ out with her “Red” comrades, the other “tomatoes.”)
.
But look, in a country fairly evenly split between Democrats (Liberals) and Republicans (?), and the success of alternative news sources proving no lack of Republican interest in the media, the huge disparity between the number of Dems and Reps in the mainstream media indicates a “Left-wing conspiracy” in hiring practices. Maybe there’s no collusion in the newsroom, but there would have to be one at the level where employment decisions are being made. How else did the newsrooms become so Liberal, and how did they maintain that Liberal “lien” on the media decade after decade? [See the book (link:] NONE DARE CALL IT TREASON: 25 YEARS LATER by John Stormer.]
.
Other than this one disagreement, I found BIAS by Bernard Goldberg to be a solid indictment of the mainstream media’s bias. An exceptional book! Wanna see how this country’s view of things like Homelessness, AIDS, Feminism, and Affirmative Action was shaped by the media? BIAS is your book and Bernard Goldberg is your writer. Despite being a Democrat, his insistence that, at the least, the opposing Conservative viewpoint deserved to be heard, proved to me that he is more “good man” than “bad liberal.” Goldberg is Left but right, and you should buy his book.
.
~ Stephen T. McCarthy
.