Downtown Los Angeles, circa 1983

Downtown Los Angeles, circa 1983
STMcC in downtown Los Angeles, circa 1983

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

EVERY COWBOY NEEDS A HORSE!

.
.
GOOD VIBRATIONS Bicycle (Cruiser Model)
by Huffy
purchased: circa 1984
.
Where would Roy Rogers have been without Trigger? Where would The Lone Ranger have been without Silver? And Pecos Bill without Widowmaker, or Doc Holliday without Big Nose Kate? The indisputable fact is that every cowboy needs a horse to ride. And what with the price of gasoline and oats these days, is it any surprise that many of us urban cowboys have shifted to the two-wheeled variety of equine transportation?
.
The other day –- just on a whim -- I did an Amazon.com search to see if anything would come up when I entered in the name and style of my deeply beloved bicycle, THE HUFFY “GOOD VIBRATIONS” model cruiser. How exuberantly surprised I was to find myself staring at a photograph of my lovely, faithful “steed.” It’s still being made. Hooray! “Classic” cruisers are still in and I’m still astride mine (even if the “fenders” are long gone).
.
Let me tell you about my bike: I bought my Huffy “GOOD VIBRATIONS” cruiser at Pep Boys in downtown Santa Monica, California, circa 1984. (It looks identical to the one pictured above.) I’ve probably logged over 144,000 miles on mine. I used to pedal it every day before work on the beach bike path for exercise and for just the pure joy of it. My favorite ride took me from underneath the Santa Monica Pier, through the human carnival of Venice Beach, around the boat slips of Marina Del Rey, and along the sand through El Segundo, Manhattan Beach, Hermosa Beach, Redondo Beach, to the outskirts of Torrance, and then back again. Or to put it more succinctly: My favorite ride was Heaven on Earth!
.
And note: With the barest minimum of maintenance, I’m still riding on “GOOD VIBRATIONS”. Yeah, uh-huh, that’s right. About 33 years after buying my bike (for approx. the same price it’s being offered for today) it and I are still the best of friends. I’m still planting my “cushions” on its seat and still pedaling along the canals, to the horse track, or to the grocery store, or to work. Now, how many years have you been driving your car? Think you’ll get 33 years out of it? Will you get 33 years out of your job? How ‘bout your marriage? Yeah, what I’m saying is that “GOOD VIBRATIONS” last and last...
.
But I had a real scare recently: The bearings in the doohickey that connects to the thingamajig had gotten wrecked and the handlebars were loose in the whatchamacallit. (I rode it that way for over a year anyway.) Finally I took it in to a bike shop and “Homeboy” tells me to throw my best friend into a dumpster. “Homeboy” says it can’t be repaired. According to “Homeboy” the bike was basically junk when brand new and that the fork could break on me at any moment and put me in the hospital. Feeling certain that GOOD VIBRATIONS” could never hurt me, I put my buddy in the bed of my truck and drove it from Phoenix, Airheadzona, to Santa Monica, California, for one last beach bike path ride. I figured that if it broke on me along the way, I’d just leave it on the beach to R.I.P. (Rust In Pieces).
.
Well, we made it from the Santa Monica Pier to Torrance and back, just like the good ol’ days! The other riders could hear us comin’ up on ‘em because “GOOD VIBRATIONS” was loudly going “SQUEEEK – KREEEK – RATTLE – GROAN! SQUEEEK – KREEEK – RATTLE – GROAN!” Other bikers probably thought he was crying in pain, but I recognized those sounds for what they really were: SINGING!  JOYFUL SINGING!
.
Back home, Good Friend Melanie suggested that I take “GOOD VIBRATIONS” to see the nice, old gentleman who owns ROADRUNNER BIKE CENTER in Glendale, AZ. Two weeks later and only $34.59 lighter, “GOOD VIBRATIONS” is as good as new and ready to hit the canals again as soon as the weather cools down! (Why that dirty dog at the first bike shop! I think “Homeboy” just wanted to sell me some newfangled, multi-geared “horse.”)
.
Only one thing concerns me: My bike is clearly labeled “HUFFY -- MADE IN U.S.A.” But nowhere on the Amazon.com Product Page do I see the country of origin mentioned. Are “GOOD VIBRATIONS” still made here, or are they now produced in China? I urge you to investigate before buying because “GOOD AMERICANS” don’t financially support Coummunist countries that utilize slave labor, threaten their neighbors, imprison the religious, and force abortions on their women, right? Right?
.
Sometimes only poetry can express a cowboy’s love for his “horse.”
.
O my Bike, O my Horse

We’ve ridden thirty-three years
You have carried me through
Times of joy and times of tears
.
We’ve traveled city streets

And journeyed along the strand
I rarely gave you oil
You never bitched ‘bout the sand
.
Leaving California
You never said, “This is bad!”
You never once complained
(Though I kinda wish you had)
.
You never bucked me off

Never trampled on my hide
Never had a headache
When I said I’d like to ride
.
You are my “Black Beauty”
You are truly my best friend
I’ll shout it from rooftops
Though others I might offend
.
Because of you alone

I have known excitations
And more than The Beach Boys
You give me Good Vibrations
.
I feel so close to you

You are almost like my kin
Throw you in a dumpster?
No, I’ll throw that “Homeboy” in!
.
(Link:] A Cowboy Needs A Horse
.
~ Stephen T. McCarthy
.

Friday, July 21, 2017

“JOURNALISM’S AYATOLLAHS OF POLITICAL CORRECTNESS.” [Page 102]

.
.
BIAS:
A CBS Insider Exposes How The Media Distort The News
by Bernard Goldberg
published: 2001
.
“Before September 11, the media elites, too often, behaved badly. And they will again”, BERNARD GOLDBERG writes on the first page of his important and impressive book, BIAS. “It is, after all, who they are.”
.
I must begin by saying how much I respect and admire the courageous Mr. Goldberg. This is a self-professed “liberal”, a man who acknowledges that he had never voted for a Republican candidate for president in his entire life! And yet, he put his liberal ass on the line when he publicly confessed and complained about liberal bias in the news media. Not the liberal values mind you -- those he mostly endorsed -- but the bias, the way the media distorts the truth to manipulate the perceptions of the (easily manipulated) masses.
.
Writing BIAS was not an act of courage, as that came after Goldberg’s retirement from CBS, when he could not be hurt by the revelation, and could only benefit from the book sales. No, his great act of bravery and neck-outta-the-turtle-shell honesty came in the form of a 1996 Wall Street Journal op-ed piece in which he criticized his industry for its underhanded practices while he was still dependent upon that industry for a paycheck. Goldberg is the proverbial dog who bites the hand that feeds it. And in short order, he was treated like a cur, given a one-way ticket to Pariahville. But he expected as much and did it anyway because he believes in fair play. Though politically, Goldberg and I have next to nothing in common, if I ever met him at Jolly Jacks, I’d buy the man a “Kocktale”. He’s a rare breed in today’s world of politics.
.
The two factors that make this book a watershed publication on this subject are 1) that the exposure of the media’s Leftist slant (yeah, a “slant” like a “lien” on the truth) comes not from a protesting Conservative, but a dyed-in-the-wool lib, and 2) the slant is not just admitted but illustrated -- illustrated with unimpeachable examples and research into how, and how many times, certain socially important stories were framed and deliberately hung crookedly in the media museum for all the world to see. (You know, like this... ;-) See the Left-leaning reporter wink? That wascally weporter winks ‘cawse he pulls the wiberal wool over yer TV-satuwated eyebawls.)
.
But what I liked was the book’s tone -- it’s both humorous and hard-hitting. Goldberg pulls no punches on his old cronies. Consider these examples:
.
* “If arrogance were a crime, there wouldn’t be enough jail cells in the entire United States to hold all the people in TV news.” [Pg. 186]
.
* “They love diversity in the newsroom. That’s what they say, anyway. They love diversity of color, diversity of gender, diversity of sexual orientation. But God forbid someone in their diverse newsroom has a diverse view about how the news ought to be presented. When that happens, these champions of diversity quake in their boots and practically make in their pants.” [Pg. 32]
.
* “I know that homelessness ceased to exist because I watch television news. If homeless people still existed, Dan and Tom and Peter would have them all over the news ... I could be wrong, but I think homelessness ended the day Bill Clinton was sworn in as president. Which is one of those incredible coincidences, since it pretty much began the day Ronald Reagan was sworn in as president. What are the odds?” [Pg. 71]
.
In blowing the whistle on the Liberal bias of both print and broadcast news sources, Goldberg tells us that “everybody to the right of Lenin is a ‘right-winger’, as far as the media elites are concerned. [Pg. 13] ... liberals have an uneasy feeling about tax cuts in general and are downright hostile to the kinds of cuts that benefit the wealthy in particular, even if they also help a lot of other Americans ... [liberal opposition to the flat tax] was visceral, from the same dark region that produces envy and the seemingly unquenchable liberal need to wage class warfare.” [Pg. 19]

.
Do you realize what Goldberg just called liberals (whether he really meant to or not)? Well, if you’re not educated enough to figure it out, I’m not going to spell it out for you. Like hell I’m not! C-O-M-M-U-N-I-S-T-S. There! It’s out! Now maybe we can make some real progress in this political debate between Liberalism and Conservatism, America.
.
The only aspect of Golberg’s BIAS that I must take issue with is his insistence that “there isn’t a well-orchestrated, vast left-wing conspiracy in America’s newsrooms.” He writes, “It is not some sinister plot, but about how mostly liberal journalists tend to frame stories from a mostly Liberal point of view ... No, we don’t sit around in dark corners and plan strategies on how we’re going to slant the news. We don’t have to. It comes naturally to most reporters.”

.
I have no doubt that’s true. But by his own admission, members of the media “vote overwhelmingly Democratic.” [Pg. 118]; “By and large, the media elites, really are liberal. And Democrats, too.” [Pg. 122]; that there is “a disproportionate number of liberals” in the media [Pg.120]; and “in the world of media elites, Democrats outnumber Republicans by twelve to one.” [Pg. 124]
.
No “left-wing conspiracy”? Hey, I didn’t just fall off the “potatoe” truck, ya know? (A nod to Dan Quayle there. An aside: You wanna learn how to spell better than a U.S. vice president? Just remember it this way: MR. POTATO HEAD only gets an “e” when he’s hangin’ out with other “potatoes.” Likewise his Marxist/Feminist girlfriend, MS. TOMATO HEAD. She only gets an “e” when she’s hangin’ out with her “Red” comrades, the other “tomatoes.”)
.
But look, in a country fairly evenly split between Democrats (Liberals) and Republicans (?), and the success of alternative news sources proving no lack of Republican interest in the media, the huge disparity between the number of Dems and Reps in the mainstream media indicates a “Left-wing conspiracy” in hiring practices. Maybe there’s no collusion in the newsroom, but there would have to be one at the level where employment decisions are being made. How else did the newsrooms become so Liberal, and how did they maintain that Liberal “lien” on the media decade after decade? [See the book (link:] NONE DARE CALL IT TREASON: 25 YEARS LATER by John Stormer.]
.
Other than this one disagreement, I found BIAS by Bernard Goldberg to be a solid indictment of the mainstream media’s bias. An exceptional book! Wanna see how this country’s view of things like Homelessness, AIDS, Feminism, and Affirmative Action was shaped by the media? BIAS is your book and Bernard Goldberg is your writer. Despite being a Democrat, his insistence that, at the least, the opposing Conservative viewpoint deserved to be heard, proved to me that he is more “good man” than “bad liberal.” Goldberg is Left but right, and you should buy his book.
.
~ Stephen T. McCarthy
.

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

“THERE AIN’T BUT THE ONE THING MAKES MISTER JOHNSON DRINK”

.
.
KING OF THE DELTA BLUES SINGERS, Vol. II
Robert Johnson
released: 1970
.
I fell in love with the music of ROBERT JOHNSON in the late 1970s, and played it frequently during the early 1980s while hanging out with THE LEAGUE OF SOUL CRUSADERS in my “Liquidated Youth”. (Some people have a “drinking buddy” but I had a “drinking gang”.)

.
I owned both of the 'KING OF THE DELTA BLUES SINGERS' albums, and though Vol. 1 had Robert Johnson's most revered Blues masterpieces, including his great “devil” tunes, I always preferred Vol. 2 because I felt it contained more sonic variety. (Even my Ma loved “They’re Red Hot” because of all the changes in pitch that Johnson’s voice assumes in that cut.) I played the hell out of Robert Johnson in those days, and the other Soul Crusaders became infected with the Blues as a result. (They eventually learned some of the words to “Love In Vain” and we’d sing it while driving to the next watering hole.)
.
By now, everyone’s heard that Johnson sold his soul to the devil for his prodigious musical talent. (What’re ya tryin’ to cast doubt on one of the great stories in the history of American music? Why ya blasted commie, I oughta -- a-Woo-Woo-Woo!) And hopefully you know that Led Zeppelin ripped off Johnson (and Wolf and Muddy) shamelessly with their first two albums. (Remember that line from Led Zepp II, where Plant sings, “You can squeeze my lemon ’til the juice runs down my leg”? They stole it directly from R.J. But R.J. wasn’t always so crude with his sexual references; he could also be funny. In “From Four Until Late” he sings, “A woman is like a dresser; some man’s always rambling through its drawers.”)
.
I have myriad Robert Johnson/Booze ’N’ Blues memories intertwined throughout my personal history to keep me company in my sober, old age. When we Soul Crusaders were in an energetic drinkin’ mood we’d often play Springsteen’s 'BORN TO RUN', 'MORRISON HOTEL' by The Doors, or 'TOO-RYE-AY' by Dexy’s Midnight Runners. When I was in a more mellow, contemplative mood, I’d drink to Van Morrison’s 'ASTRAL WEEKS', 'PIRATES' by Rickie Lee Jones, or 'SMALL CHANGE' by Tom Waits. (Of course, when we were in a Country-Western frame of mind there was just no substitute for the album 'MY BABY BUSTED MY HEART BUT I’M CRYIN’ ’CAUSE I SLICED AN ONION' by Yoey O’Dogherty And His Corn Liquor Boys.)
.
But at 3:30 AM, when all the other Soul Crusaders were passed out, me ’n’ Twinkie would head for his bedroom. I know what you’re thinkin’, and it wasn’t like that at all! Despite his nickname, Twinkie and I were both manly men -- like lumberjacks, OK? And we were just going into his bedroom to listen to Robert Johnson. One night, we experienced a Liquidated Magical Moment: we simultaneously heard an R.J. lick that was literally “IMPOSSIBLE” for a single guitarist to play. Our heads snapped and we looked to each other, both of us slack-jawed. We never could find that exact same spot on the album again when in a sober state, so it was just one more of those mysterious things that happen when Boys ’N’ Booze meet (you rummies know what I’m yakkin’ 'bout).
.
Twinkie’s real surname was “Johnson”, and borrowing the lyric from 'Kind Hearted Woman Blues', we used to sing out “Now there ain’t but the one thing makes Mister Johnson drink” every time he was having female troubles. (And he was ALWAYS having female troubles, so he did a lot of drinking. I only drank when I didn’t have a woman to give me trouble, meaning this lonesome boy also did a lot of drinking.) And Robert Johnson even inspired me to write my own Blues song, 'Devil On My Coattail Blues'. I’d sing it for ya, but I like ya too much to do that.
.
The best performance of R.J.’s 'Love In Vain' that the Soul Crusaders ever gave was the night an angry Napoleon (aka Nappy), my brother (The League’s 5’ 6" “enforcer”), decided to stumble home from The Music Machine dance club when a smart woman declined his request for a dance. It would have been about a 12-mile walk, so we went looking for him shortly after he stormed out.

.
Meanwhile, Napoleon had entered a bar to buy a cigar for the walk home, when some big, fat feller with some artificial hair started some crap with Nappy just because he was only 5’ 6”. Well, Nappy -- never one to take any crap from anyone -- reciprocated with some lip o' his own and then left the bar with his cigar.
.
Fat Feller, figuring he would show his bar buddies how tough he was, went out after little Nappy and took a swing at him. (Ooooh, big boo-boo, Fat Feller! Ya just don’t antagonize “Little Mad Guy”.) With freakish quickness, Nappy flicked a left jab to set Fat Feller up, and immediately followed that with the right cross.

.
Now ordinarily, Nappy’s right cross is enough to send ANY man to the next lunar cycle, if not to the Moon itself. But in this case, being in the “100-proof condition” that he was, Nappy’s punch merely succeeded in putting Fat Feller’s head into the full speed Linda Blair Exorcist-Spin Cycle. By the time the headlights of our van flashed upon the two combatants squared off with each other in the street, Fat Feller’s head was just coming to a stop, his toupee was lying in the dirt in the next county, and all of the fight had gone out of him. (Who knows where it went -- but it was later reported that something with its tail between its legs was seen yelping Westbound on Pico Boulevard, moving with great haste toward the Pacific Ocean.)
.
We hustled Napoleon into the van while apologizing to Fat Feller. (Nappy was involved in this altercation, so naturally we had just “assumed” it was his fault.) But undoubtedly Fat Feller couldn’t hear the apology because of the ringing in his ears. And we drove off singing, “Ooooh-Ooooh, all my love’s in vain!”

.
When I converted my Robert Johnson LPs to compact disc, I bought ’The Complete Recordings’ but the thing gave me the blues because I didn’t like the fact that all of the alternate takes were placed back-to-back with their released versions, so that unless I wanted to take time to program the player first, I was hearing many of the songs twice in a row. I later sold that set and acquired 'KING OF THE DELTA BLUES SINGERS Volume 1 and 2' separately, and I’m much happier now.
.
Whether you need a soundtrack for drinkin’, fightin’, cryin’, or just general 'carryin' on' -- or need great Blues just for listenin’ to ’cause that’s the kinda guy or gal ya are -- 'KING OF THE DELTA BLUES SINGERS' is the real deal, the genuine article, true Blues for the true you. Buy it today and start creating your own intoxicated Robert Johnson memories!
.
But whatever you do, don’t listen to 'KING OF THE DELTA BLUES SINGERS' while in public -- especially while you’re driving -- or you’ll have M.A.R.J. (Mothers Against Robert Johnson) madd at ya, and that’s even more dangerous than having Napoleon madd at ya!
.
~ Stephen T. McCarthy
.

Wednesday, July 12, 2017

I'M ALWAYS IN THE (Miller) MOOD!

.
.
GLENN MILLER: THE POPULAR RECORDINGS (1938-1942)
The Glenn Miller Orchestra
released: 1989

.
This may be a bit more information than you want, but I first realized that Glenn Miller's MOONLIGHT SERENADE was my all-time favorite piece of music in 1990 while I was on a second floor "lavatory throne" at The Sundowner Hotel & Casino in Reno, Nevada. I was minding my own "business" when the song was piped into the men's room over the casino's sound system. I recognized the beautifully lilting melody as belonging to Glenn Miller, and the bygone Big Band era seemed to beckon me, transporting me back in time. I was almost convinced that when I exited the stall I would find a restroom attendant present, who would offer me a genuine cotton towel and ask if I wanted a shoeshine and a splash of Old Spice before rejoining the suit and fedora-wearing gentlemen and sleek black dress and single strand pearl necklace-wearing ladies in the gambling parlor.
.
Instead it was my T-shirt and baseball cap-wearing Pa and Bro I found waiting for me at the slot machine infested snack bar. I hummed the melody and asked my Dad if he knew the title. He was pretty sure that it was MOONLIGHT SERENADE I was trying to imitate. When I got home, I realized that I had recognized the song because it was one that my girlfriend regularly played on the jukebox at our favorite watering hole.

.
.
.
A week or two later I was in a record store debating whether to buy a single disc Glenn Miller compilation or this 3-disc set. I finally settled on this package, and I have been rewarded generously ever since!
.
I can't praise this collection enough. Look at what you get: 60 songs and instrumentals presented primarily in their recorded chronology so you can track the orchestra's progression. It comes with a very nice 36-page booklet that contains 8 historic photos; an exhaustive discography that catalogs every track -- its recording date, full personnel and master number, and extensive, insightful liner notes penned by Mort Goode. A
nd what about the music? It's FABULOUS! I shudder to think that I might have missed out on such richness by settling for some cheap 10-song Greatest Hits compilation at $7.95 or so.
.
Here's what the producer says about the sound: "We did not attempt to remove surface noise. We found that this made for dull recordings, lacking the spark and flair that must have characterized the original recording sessions... We clarified the bass somewhat and the high-end as well, but in general our changes were minimal. It was our intention to faithfully reproduce the music of one of the greatest popular artists the United States has ever produced."
.
To be sure, at times the age of this music is aurally apparent -- for instance, there is slight but noticeable "crackling" on MOONLIGHT SERENADE, and I WOULDN'T CHANGE IT FOR THE WORLD! NO WAY! It only enhances the wonderful effect of this time machine whenever I play it. Many of these recordings are derived from the original sources, so this is the REAL Miller Sound! Why would you want anything else?
.
I love many of the Big Bands of yore. Benny Goodman may have had the most accomplished and exciting musicians; Count Basie may have had the most cohesive rhythm section; Duke Ellington may have been the most ambitious arranger; Artie Shaw may have been the most inventive; and Tommy Dorsey may have had the best singer. But Glenn Miller had "THE SOUND" -- that lush, incredibly romantic musical dreamscape style. But make no mistake, his boys could also stomp on the accelerator when they were "In The Mood". Miller had it all, and that was well known in his time. Consider this excerpt from the liner notes: "The Glenn Miller sound was a 'sound for the times.' The band won honors in the Metronome 1940 Dance-Band Contest. The comment read: 'Miller hung on tenaciously throughout. Not only did he dog Benny's heels, but he also kept shoving Tommy Dorsey for top sweet honors. When the final smoke had cleared, the popular Glenn was perched on the second rung of all three ladders, the greatest example of all-around showing in the history of the contest.'"
.
And yes, it's all here! The beautiful ballads, the energetic dance romps, and the silly lyrics that speak of a far simpler, more innocent time.

.
Glenn Miller's THE POPULAR RECORDINGS (1938-1942) would have to be my choice if I could only carry one compact disc with me to that imaginary "Deserted Island." (Has anybody ever explained how we're going to get electricity on this island in order to play our "Island Discs"?) This set would have to go with me because I can't imagine never hearing MOONLIGHT SERENADE ever again. Plus, it's just loaded with terrific tunes to daydream by. But you'd better hope that you aren't there with me because I'm gonna be pretty cranky on that island without my Pat Metheny Group recordings. I'll take it out on the macaws by blasting the rip-roaring GLENN ISLAND SPECIAL every time they're trying to sleep. That'll serve 'em right for driving me up the banana tree with their incessant squawking!
.
~ Stephen T. McCarthy
.

Sunday, July 9, 2017

THE “SMARTEST” DECISION I EVER MADE...

.
.
BRAINWASHED: 
How Universities Indoctrinate America's Youth
by Ben Shapiro
published: 2004
.
...was to forgo a college “education.” Why? Because I managed to avoid the type of brainwashing that Ben Shapiro so clearly illustrates in his book BRAINWASHED.
.
I recently [circa 2004] arrived home from work surprised to find BRAINWASHED in my mailbox. It had been sent to me by a good friend in Kansas (I’ll call him “Kevin” [1]) whose nice Sister I dated for five years over a decade ago. “Kevin” sent it because, as he said, "it’s a good book” and he wrote, “I expect a full review of this.” (This is the review, with footnotes!) 
.
Because Ben Shapiro was a columnist for UCLA’s newspaper, THE DAILY BRUIN, and because I have a significant connection with UCLA, “Kevin” thought I’d find the book particularly interesting. He was right. I was born a “Bruin” at the UCLA Medical Center in 1959 [2] and worked for the campus Parking Department for nearly a decade. I remember all too well the dogmatic Liberalism of the indoctrinated students and the pronounced Leftist lean of the school’s Socialistic bullhorn, THE DAILY RUIN. [3] (I’d try reading it over dinner at The Cooperage food court but it would invariably “ruin” my appetite!)
.
Ben’s book is very good, and though I’ve given it an overall grade of Four Stars, if you have a son or daughter currently (or soon to be) enrolled at ANY university in this country, then you should consider this a Five Star book and run -- don’t walk -- to acquire a copy of it. [4]
.
In BRAINWASHED, Ben addresses many pillars of Liberalism and shows how they are promoted throughout the university system. One of the most cherished, of course, is Affirmative Action which provides us with “Diversity” which is that essential tool for creating the strength of “Unity.” [5] On page 53, we meet that rare Latino student who approves of Ben Shapiro’s anti-Affirmative Action protest because he doesn’t “want everyone thinking whatever I do in life, I got the opportunity to do it because of my race. It’s insulting.” That reminded me of “Kevin’s” Sister. I met her on the UCLA campus while she was a student. One trait that attracted me to her was her independent stance and determination to make it in life on merit and not a “gimme.” She was half Mexican [6] and therefore eligible to check the “Hispanic” box when applying to UCLA, but she told me she marked “White” instead because she didn’t want to always wonder if she was accepted merely because of ethnicity. [7]
.
Another section of Ben’s book that elicited some very personal UCLA-related memories for me was titled RODNEY KING AND THE LOS ANGELES "UPRISING". I was a UCLA employee at the time of the L.A. Riots and I still find it somewhat ironic that the first night that rioting broke out, I was meeting my best friend from the department -- I’ll call him “Lonnie” [8] -- after work for video game competitions, which we commonly referred to as “Ass-Whuppins”. [9] “Lonnie” was Black. [10] That the jury found the police officers innocent in the beating of Rodney King was reprehensible. The aftermath even more so.
.
Back then, I was supervising student employees and responsible for training them in various aspects of special events preparation and equipment maintenance. One student I remember fondly was a young, Black comic book artist whom I’ll call “Stephen”. [11] Shortly after the Rodney King riots, he and I discussed the issue and I explained many factors that the media, the politicians, the police, and the citizens were either ignoring or not cognizant of. Afterwards, “Stephen”, this young Black man, paid me one of the finest compliments I’ve ever received. I won’t state what he said [12] as it might seem boastful and self-serving, but his ability to set aside emotion and preconceived judgments in order to gain real understanding of complex dynamics filled me with hope for our young, Socialistically-indoctrinated university students.
.
Under Partisan Politics, Ben discusses minimum wage laws. He understands the folly. I got an object lesson in it many years ago: Being an ice cream junkie, I was a regular at Dairy Queen. One day I noticed that the price of their “Blizzards” had gone up and I enquired about it. The manager answered honestly, “The minimum wage went up, so our prices did too.” 
.
Got that? The companies aren’t going to see the wage increase cut into their profit margins so they pass the increased cost on to you, the customer. Now, who generally earns a “minimum wage” in this country? Young people who are employed at fast food restaurants, video stores, convenience markets, music shops, smoke shops, etc. Where do young people spend most of their money? Fast food restaurants, video stores, convenience markets, music shops, smoke shops, etc. Their minimum wage increase gets absorbed into the market the moment they receive it because of the raised prices to cover the wage increase. Their financial situation therefore hasn’t improved one whit, but don’t the Leftist politicians look so “humanitarian” when they fight for the Little Guy?
.
The only area in which Ben Shapiro needs to do a little more “homework” is The War On Terrorism. He is misguided by the Neo-Conservative party line in this regard and needs to ask hard but reasonable questions and insist upon reasonable answers. I found Chapters 8 and 9 to be the obvious weak links in an otherwise very good and important book. (But Genetically Modified Crops make me nervous, Ben! Can we REALLY improve on God’s “nature”?)
.
On page 78 you’ll find the whole heart of the matter -- as accurate a statement as can be found in any political book by anyone. Ben is undoubtedly more percipient than even he realizes. We’re led to believe that the “solutions” to all of our problems (which were deliberately created by pseudo-Socialists in BOTH major political parties) “is Global Socialism”. What a surprise! [13]
.
I highly recommend BRAINWASHED by Ben Shapiro. And though the writer is a Conservative, I have it on good authority that this one doesn’t burn books, drown cats, mug old women, steal candy from children, or even blow deadly secondhand smoke into the faces of liberals. Read this book and then you’ll understand why colleges are referred to as “institutions of higher education”[14]
.
FOOTNOTES:
[1] Because that is his name.
[2] After putting my Mom through 9 months and 3 weeks of pregnancy, and 40 hours of labor. Obviously, I was very eager to come into your world.
[3] Uh… I meant, “The Daily Bruin”.
[4] Before your child is transformed into a morally impaired Marxist marionette.
[5] Hee-Hee! To quote Jo Van Fleet from the movie, East Of Eden, “If you don’t think that’s funny, you’d better not go to college.”
[6] It was her left half.
[7] I always did like intelligent women.
[8] Because that was his name.
[9] I usually gave more than I got.
[10] Unfortunately, I’ve lost touch with him, but I’m guessing he still is.
[11] Because that was his name.
[12] He said, “It’s just as well you never went to college. They have nothing to teach you.”
[13] See my guide titled “(BE FIRST ON YOUR BLOCK TO) WAKE UP TO THE POLITICAL MATRIX.”
[14] Because nowhere will you find teachers “higher” and more in need of being “institutionalized.”
.
~ Stephen T. McCarthy
.

Tuesday, June 27, 2017

DON'T SLIP ON THIS ROTTEN BANANA PEEL!

.
[This review was originally published at Amazon.com on Wednesday, May 18, 2005]
.

.
INHERIT THE WIND
starring Spencer Tracy
1960

.
I recently rented INHERIT THE WIND to see for myself if it was really as bad as I'd heard. It was. I am astounded to find how many reviewers have excused its massive deviation from fact under the banner of "entertainment." Has our capacity to evaluate information diminished to the point that we are no longer able to differentiate between simple entertainment and pure propaganda? When a movie presents a supposedly intellectual argument, and paints EVERY SINGLE MEMBER on one side of that argument as a buffoon maroon, but shows the other side as thoughtful, open-minded and humanitarian, you can bet the farm that you're being propagandized!
.
Some reviewers have equated the movie with an indictment of the horrors of "McCarthyism". These folks have been twice-bamboozled! Obviously they don't do any independent research, but just ingest whatever gets fed to them. Click HERE if you want to learn the truth about Joseph McCarthy and "McCarthyism".

.
INHERIT THE WIND pretends to portray the famous 1925 Scopes "Monkey Trial" with a little dramatic license. This movie strays SO FAR from the facts that even saying it is "based on" the actual event renders that term so elastic as to be meaningless!
.
John Scopes is renamed Bert Cates (Dick York), Clarence Darrow becomes Henry Drummond (Spencer Tracy), William Jennings Bryan becomes Matthew Harrison Brady (Fredric March) and Dayton, Tennessee, becomes Hillsboro, Tennessee. The playwrights, Jerome Lawrence and Robert Lee, did not alter the names because they thought they could improve on them, but so they could legally reinvent history. The idea was to twist the truth and present it as entertainment "based on" a true story, knowing that over time, the drama will become accepted as factual by the masses. And it worked! Look how many of us grew up thinking that INHERIT THE WIND was an essentially accurate account of the "Monkey Trial."
.
All of the Christians (believing in "Creationism") in the movie are portrayed as emotionally-overwrought, brain-dead bigots. Paint any other group with such a broad brush and you'll be in court for the rest of your life, but here in Amerika, it's always "open season" on Christians. Hardly sympathetic to both views, in reality, Darrow called Christianity, Bryan's "fool religion".

.
Contrary to some opinions, the acting does NOT make INHERIT THE WIND worthy of your time. Fredric March and Claude Akins are mere caricatures, but they're not to be blamed as Brady and Reverend Brown were written as cartoon blowhards. Tracy's naturalistic performance is enjoyable, as usual, but Tracy was ALWAYS Tracy from film to film -- there's nothing new here. Gene Kelly was fine as the cynical, MENSA-Donkey newspaper reporter, but it was a simple part to play. The best, most sympathetic performance was actually turned in by Florence Eldridge as Mrs. Sarah Brady. Now her I believed.
.
If you're interested in comparing the events portrayed in the movie INHERIT THE WIND with the REALITY of the 1925 "Monkey Trial", to see just how far the playwrights deviated from truth, click HERE and go to my guide titled "WOULD YOU LIKE TO... STOP FALLING FOR SPENCER TRACY'S MONKEY BUSINESS?" You'll be surprised -- no, SHOCKED at how seriously the movie distorted the facts in order to condition people to the dogma of Darwinism!
.
~ Stephen T. McCarthy
.

WOULD YOU LIKE TO... STOP FALLING FOR SPENCER TRACY'S MONKEY BUSINESS?

.
[This guide was originally published at Amazon.com in March of 2005, and it was largely based on a chapter in the 1999 book TORNADO IN A JUNKYARD: The Relentless Myth Of Darwinism by James Perloff. I give the book my highest recommendation.]
.


.
THE PROBABILITY OF HIGHER LIFE FORMS EMERGING BY CHANCE ARE COMPARABLE TO THE ODDS THAT "A TORNADO SWEEPING THROUGH A JUNKYARD MIGHT ASSEMBLE A BOEING 747 FROM THE MATERIALS THEREIN."
~ eminent astronomer, Sir Fred Hoyle, 1981
.
"AN HONEST MAN, ARMED WITH ALL THE KNOWLEDGE AVAILABLE TO US NOW, COULD ONLY STATE THAT IN SOME SENSE, THE ORIGIN OF LIFE APPEARS AT THE MOMENT TO BE ALMOST A MIRACLE, SO MANY ARE THE CONDITIONS WHICH WOULD HAVE HAD TO HAVE BEEN SATISFIED TO GET IT GOING."
~ Nobel Prize-winning, DNA co-discoverer, Dr. Francis Crick, 1981
.
The movie INHERIT THE WIND (1960) pretends to portray the famous 1925 Scopes Monkey Trial with a "little" dramatic license. John Scopes is renamed Bert Cates (Dick York), defense attorney Clarence Darrow becomes Henry Drummond (Spencer Tracy), prosecuting attorney William Jennings Bryan becomes Matthew Harrison Brady (Fredric March) and Dayton, Tennessee, becomes Hillsboro, Tennessee.
.
The playwrights did not alter the names because they thought they could improve on them, but so they could slander without fear of a libel lawsuit. The idea was to distort the truth and present it as "entertainment", knowing that over time, the drama will become accepted as factual by the masses.
.
All of the Christians ("Creationists") in the movie are portrayed as emotionally-overwrought, brain-dead bigots. Paint any other group with such a broad brush and you'll be in court for the rest of your life, but here in Amerika, it's always open season on Christians.
.
Let's compare INHERIT THE WIND (ITW) with REALITY and see if we can't detect some deliberate dishonesty...
.
INHERIT THE WIND (ITW): Cates is arrested by the town fathers while teaching Darwin's Evolution in class and is jailed. Later an angry Christian mob threatens to lynch him, and he is injured when a zealot throws a rock through his jail cell window.

.
REALITY: The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) placed several advertisements in Tennessee, offering to pay all expenses for the person who would help them challenge the Butler Act (State law forbidding the teaching of Evolution in public schools). Scopes was recruited. He was not jailed at any point because it was only a finable offense. Scopes confessed in his autobiography that as a substitute Science teacher, he couldn't even recall actually teaching Evolution. (Incidentally, the ACLU was founded by Roger Baldwin who served as its executive director for 30 years and who wrote in his Harvard reunion book that "Communism" was his "goal". See the book: THE ACLU VS. AMERICA: Exposing The Agenda To Redefine Moral Values by Alan Sears & Craig Osten.)
.
ITW: Drummond is given a rude welcome by the narrow-minded Christian townspeople. He is portrayed as a brave underdog fighting an unjust system.
.
REALITY: A friendly crowd greeted Darrow at the train station and the town held a banquet in his honor. Darrow was not a lone warrior fighting against a stacked deck; the ACLU imported a team of lawyers and "experts."
.
ITW: Brady bellows, "The people of this State have made it very clear that they do not want this zoological hogwash slobbered around the schoolrooms!" And he says, "The way of Scientism is the way of darkness."
.
REALITY: Bryan was a member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. At the trial he said, "Give Science a fact and it is not only invincible, but of incalculable service to man."
.
ITW: Brady illustrates his narrow-mindedness by stating that he has never read Darwin's 'The Origin Of Species' and that he "never will."

.
REALITY: Bryan quoted extensively from Darwin's writings in the Dayton courtroom.
.
ITW: The judge refuses to allow Darwin's texts to be admitted as evidence in the case.
.
REALITY: Bryan himself offered Darwin's 'The Origin Of Species' as evidence into the trial.
.
ITW: Brady is portrayed as an obnoxious boor with a penchant for delivering long windy speeches.
.
REALITY: Bryan didn't even speak in court until the 4th day of the trial, by which time Darrow had engaged in considerable oratory, including a 2-hour speech on religion and bigotry.
.
ITW: Drummond is refused the right to put Evolution "experts" on the stand to testify.
.
REALITY: Darrow declined to put his experts on the stand for fear of Bryan's cross-examination. Instead, he had them submit affidavits. (Ironically, most of the Evolutionary "evidence" Darrow's experts discussed -- Piltdown Man, useless vestigial organs, embryonic recapitulation -- are now discredited ideas.)
.
ITW: Brady betrays the trust of Cates' fiancee by putting her on the stand and forcing her to testify to things about Cates that she revealed confidentially to Brady the night before. Later, she sobs to Brady's wife, "If he could do such an evil thing, he must be an evil man. And everything he stands for must be evil too!"

.
REALITY: Scopes had no girlfriend and no women were ever called to testify in the case.
.
ITW: The jury finds Cates guilty and he is fined $100. Outraged by the small fine, Brady delivers an irrational, impassioned speech, suffers a heart attack and dies in the courtroom.
.
REALITY: After putting Bryan on the stand and trying to make him look foolish, Darrow changes the plea of Scopes to guilty, ending the trial. Darrow did this in order to prevent Bryan from questioning HIM on the witness stand, and to keep Bryan (who died 5 days after the trial) from making a closing argument. Darrow admitted in his autobiography that he had intended to employ this tactic from the beginning of the trial. The ACLU's purpose for the trial had been merely to disseminate Darwinism and publicly assail Christian fundamentalism.
.
I have only scratched the surface of the discrepancies between INHERIT THE WIND and REALITY in this guide. If TRUTH matters to you at all, pick up a copy of TORNADO IN A JUNKYARD: The Relentless Myth Of Darwinism by James Perloff. Most of the material for this guide was borrowed from chapter 17 of that outstanding book for laymen.
.
All these decades after the release of "WINDY", in the "genuine" SCIENTIFIC community, Darwinism is as dead as Darwin, and Microbiology and Physics are well on their way to circumstantially proving that a Supremely Intelligent Designer is responsible for life as we know it. Chapter 7 alone ("Vegas Odds On Life") of TORNADO IN A JUNKYARD will put Darwinism to rest for anybody with half an ounce of grey matter in their skull and honesty in their heart!
.
As for you RADICAL ATHEISTS lining up to post your negative comments against this guide, keep this in mind: They will NOT...
.
1) Alter the Truth one whit.
.
2) Affect me in the least.
.
3) Convince me that YOU exist!
.
Now go have a really nice day!


.



~ Stephen T. McCarthy
(2005, March)
.

Monday, June 26, 2017

ODE TO A BARBER

.
.
THE ANDY GRIFFITH SHOW:
Floyd's Hair-Raising Adventures
VHS tape released 1992
.

.
Somewhere in the heart of Dixie, yonder in the South
There's a small place called Mount Airy
But as living mythology embraced in my mind
It goes by the name Mayberry
.
Her favorite citizens enter into my house
Slipping in by way of TV
And in just thirty short minutes they lighten my life
And they teach my heart how to see
.
There's the round Mayor Pike and the round drunken Otis
Sheriff Taylor and Barney Fife
Who at five feet seven, a hundred thirty-eight pounds
Is built like a thin-bladed knife
.
Of course there's Goober, Gomer and the sweet Thelma Lou
and the ever-cooking Aunt Bee
There's Helen and Howard and don't forget Opie and
With the first whistled notes, there's me!
.
Only a few doors down Main Street from Andy's courthouse
You'll come to a famous "clip joint"
This small shop is the business of barber Floyd Lawson
And this brings me now to the point
.
Floyd is a fair barber and a right nervous fellow
In his shop the men come to sit
They get hair cuts, play checkers, and tell their Fish Tales
Or just "loaf", as Opie calls it
.
In this tape's Episode One, Floyd's dream is realized
A shop with "two chairs -- no waiting"
But unbeknownst to him the new man is a bookie
Just barber-impersonating
.
When Barney goes undercover as an old lady
He breaks up the gambling ring
And Floyd Lawson with his dream handcuffed and arrested
Goes back to one-chair barbering
.
In Episode Two, while writing to a rich widow
Floyd is really stretching the truth
Claiming to be a man of business enterprises
and also a little more youth
.
But being a "prince of a fellow", Andy steps in
And he helps Floyd to save the day
But only to find that with his very next letter
Floyd has once again gone astray
.
In searching old files Deputy Fife discovers
The case of a punch in the nose
And reopening old wounds between Floyd and Foley
Soon the town is coming to blows
.
The Sheriff is able to repair the strained friendship
And a Mayberry riot avoid
And in the final scene we see One-Bullet Barney
Fork over a nickel to Floyd
.
Here's my favorite sitcom and it always has been
Ain't an episode I don't know
I'd say two of the three episodes presented here
Represent the best of the show
.
I would place 'The Deceiver' and a 'Punch In The Nose'
Right firmly in my own Top Ten
I own Hair-Raising Adventures on videotape
And watch it again and again!
.
This collection is worth every Star that I gave it
It's better than gold or a dog
I'd rather have it than seventeen supermodels
or a lifetime supply of grog
.
Don't you call me a liar and dispute what I say
Or although I'm just Stephen T.
I'll pick up a rock and heave it right through your window
Just as though I were Ernest T.
.
~ Stephen T. McCarthy
.

Monday, June 19, 2017

THIS AIN'T NO BABBLING BROOKE! (Part 1 Of 2: The Introduction)

.
.
Most of the time, I am reading 3 nonfiction books at once: I am always engaged in working my way through The Holy Bible between January 1st and December 31st with a daily reading schedule; I have one book in my tiny office where I do my "paperwork" when the mood strikes; and I have a third book to read whenever I'm not drinking at the bar.
.
Have you ever been quoted in a book published by someone you've never even heard of before?
.
In January of this year, I wanted to find something I had posted on an Internet site but I couldn't remember where it was. So I did a Google search with some keywords or phrases to see if I could locate it. One of the search results I got seemed odd. It looked as if someone whose name I was not familiar with had quoted me, so I clicked on that, and here's what I found:
.
In 2008, the following book of 231 pages was published.
.
UNITED WE FALL:
Ending America's Love Affair With The Political Center

.
by Phil Neisser
Praeger Publishers
Westport, Connecticut
London

.

.
Phil Neisser is Professor and Chair of the Department of Politics at the State University of New York at Potsdam. He is co-editor of 'Tales Of The State: Narrative in Contemporay U.S. Politics and Public Policy' and numerous articles critical of the idealization of centrist politics.
.
The inside flap of the book gives the following description of the publication:
.
UNITED WE FALL argues that today's harmful levels of polarization in American politics can be ratcheted down only by giving up the twin notions that the center is the sweet spot for political efficiency, and that all differences deserve equal weight in the democratic balance. The American people need, instead, to embrace a political credo of civic engagement, confrontation with open ears, and spirited debate. The commonplace "United We Stand" must be supplanted by the insight that democracy is strongest where it acknoledges and formalizes real division.

.
But surely bipartisan rancor in America and extremist violence around the world are symptoms of too much disagreement -- not too little? No, asserts the author. The root cause of political violence of all stripes is the failure of opposing camps to engage each other openly and persuasively on their genuine and irreconcilable differences.
.
...And so on and so forth...
.
From my Google search result I wasn't able to see what quote from me the author had included in his book, only the note indicating where he had gotten it. The notation on page 208 said:
.
31. Stephen T. McCarthy, October 7, 2005, customer review of Tale [sic] Brooke, One World (End Run Publishing, 2000),
http://www.amazon.com (accessed September 17, 2007).
.
Like a dog who smells a cat roaming around on the other side of a closed door, I wanted to open that door (or open that book), but I wasn't willing to pay much money to scratch that itch. However, I soon found an inexpensive, used Oklahoma library copy of the book for sale online and also found I had free money (accrued credit card points) that I could use to get it without paying a cent. So, I ordered it.
.
I found myself quoted on page 81 of Chapter 4: United We Stand and Conspiracy Thinking:
.
Page 80:
United We Stand is just one of the obstacles. Conspiracy thinking, because of its erroneous conceptualization of power, is another."
...
.
Page 81:
"Each grand conspiracy theory is actually several, as the assumption of successful secrecy allows theorizing to spin into endless variation. One believer's list of conspirators includes the "talking heads" in the media, "International Bankers, Secular Humanists, 'Progressive' Educators, New Age Gurus, The United Nations, American Politicians, Secret Societies, Fabian Socialists, Darwinists, [and] Marxists," all of whom are said to be "working in concert to construct the New Age World Order." [31]
.
As stated above, Neisser was quoting me from a review I had written and published in 2005 at Amazon.com for the book ONE WORLD by Tal (not "Tale") Brooke. Today, you would not find that review at that website because one of the information gatekeepers, who work for the evil-doer Jeff Bezos, removed all of my BigBitch.com reviews. People like me, who know too much and aren't shy about sharing what we know to educate others, we must have our voices silenced by those who work for "the ruler of this world".

.
However, I have good news! Although Phil Neisser wrongly tried to cast doubt on the facts I shared, and despite the fact that Amazon.com tried to make my review of ONE WORLD disappear from the Internet, I saved a copy of it which you can read by scrolling down one blog bit or by clicking HERE.
.
As for Neisser's book, I'm finally about ready to read it. I just put it in my tiny office where I do my paperwork. (It's near the sink, right next to the room deodorizer.) After I finish reading it (assuming I will finish it) perhaps I'll critique the crap out of it and post a review of it on this blog. ...Or not.
.
~ Stephen T. McCarthy
.

THIS AIN'T NO BABBLING BROOKE! (Part 2 Of 2: The Review)

.
For 'Part 1 Of 2: The Introduction' click HERE.
.
.
ONE WORLD
(Special Millennial Edition Of 'When The World Will Be As One')

by Tal Brooke
published: 2000
.
ONE WORLD by Tal Brooke is really nothing less than the ideal primer on the full scope of that oft repeated phrase "The New World Order". It provides a quick but incisive glimpse of every facet of this diabolically deceptive Cubic Zirconia. 
.
When the epiphany occurred for me many years ago, and I suddenly saw the Big Picture of my intensive studies, I entertained the idea of writing a book that would pull together all of the seemingly disparate threads of "The New World Order" to illustrate for my readers the full weave of the specious utopian dream. But shortly thereafter, I encountered Brooke's ONE WORLD and realized that I had been beaten to the punch. That's fine. As long as the Truth has been elucidated by SOMEONE, it didn't need to be me.
.
I can still clearly recall that night, sitting at my desk and believing that I was engaged in two separate studies: religion and politics. And then suddenly, in a moment, it was as if the curtain on the stage was pulled back to reveal all of the props, the painted backgrounds, and the costumed players who were acting out the play titled "The New World Order", just as it had been penned by the unseen playwright -- the prince of darkness. I was astounded to realize that all of the different scenes actually formed acts, and that the acts formed a unified but very dark story. I found there were no independent nor secular parts. They all coalesced into a single production. And to carry this analogy one step further, one could argue that [link) The Holy Bible is the review written by a Critic who has seen the dress rehearsal. He says it's a bad show, and it will close before its scheduled run is completed. And since the Critic owns the theater, we can take His Word for it.
.
One can separately study the different arms of the Shiva-like New World Order entity: G. Edward Griffin's, THE CREATURE FROM JEKYLL ISLAND: A SECOND LOOK AT THE FEDERAL RESERVE will give you a full understanding of the money powers behind it -- the muscle, the bodyguard. NONE DARE CALL IT TREASON: 25 YEARS LATER by John Stormer illustrates and totally PROVES (with countless footnotes to sources) the myriad machinations of the political realm. Walter Martin's THE KINGDOM OF THE CULTS goes into the spiritual forms it can assume and the sophism it employs. David Barton's ORIGINAL INTENT: THE COURTS, THE CONSTITUTION AND RELIGION examines the legal bulwark of the entity and the judicial means by which it seeks to undermine the foundation of the Truth that opposes it. Or TORNADO IN A JUNKYARD, by James Perloff, which unveils the pseudo-logical secular birthright that it claims and then uses to suck in those adherents who lack a Spiritual bent. And I don't propose that ONE WORLD should be read in lieu of any of those other titles, but ONE WORLD serves as an excellent overview that, like a road map, can be used to graphically perceive how these many paths converge at a predetermined "place" even when the traveler may have had a different destination in mind.
.
Tal Brooke writes with great power, passion, intellect, and lucidity! He has a creatively-infused mind that can transform thoroughly researched nonfiction into a book that reads like a page-turning suspense novel. Like me, he is an "Idea Bulldog" who once he has gotten a grasp on the target, shakes it out violently and relentlessly until every piece has come loose. And now it can be observed and examined from every imaginable angle so that a full understanding of the machination can be obtained, and the functioning of its gears understood. 
.
A couple of years ago I loaned my copy of ONE WORLD to a friend and later asked her if Tal Brooke's writing reminded her of anyone she knew. "You!", she answered. She recognized the inner "GRRRRR!" that Brooke and I share. In many respects, ONE WORLD is the book I would have written if Tal Brooke had not. (Now whether I could have pulled it off nearly so successfully may be quite another matter.) A couple of his chapters that castigate what I call "McChristians" brought to mind an essay I wrote many years ago, which segues into another observation...
.
Tal Brooke is a Born Again Christian and writes pointedly from that worldview. That's OK, because it is largely correct. But Brooke misses the nuance on a couple of occasions when he fails to recognize the subtlety that separates the wholly deceived New Ager from the kernel of truth that does exist in some "New Age" teachings, and which is responsible for pulling the person with that mindset into the arena completely. 
.
For example: On page 57, he correctly identifies the "cornerstone of the New Age movement: MAN IS GOD." But on page 83 he lumps in with that definition the Gnostic idea that man is a "spark of the Divine." But these are NOT synonymous. In the first, it is argued that God does not exist apart from the mind of man, whereas in the second, the "spark" is not substantive apart from the Divine Flame that gives it birth and meaning. 
.
Brooke also dismisses the concept of reincarnation, with its ties to the New Age school, as being antithetical to the message of The Bible. This is simply not so. (See my 4-part online guide (link:] REINCARNATION AND THE HOLY BIBLE
.
The prince of darkness, the ruler of this world cannot draw people to himself by feeding them a diet comprised entirely of lies -- that's too easily discerned even by the nitwit. His genius is in mixing his leaven (a Biblical symbol for sin and evil) with the overarching truths that call naturally to the mind of man, and which the mind can enthusiastically embrace. Not recognizing that the dough also contains the leaven (poison) that the devious cook has intended for him, the man ingests and assimilates it and afterwards, unwittingly sends his compliments to the chef. (See Matthew 13:33 & 16:5-12) But having recognized the devil's leaven, Brooke has chosen to run the entire meal down the garbage disposal. I don't really have a problem with that. For most people, erring on the side of caution is preferable to running the risk of contracting food poisoning!
.
Like Brooke, I had to learn of the New Age evil the hard way. He was once a personally-selected disciple of the false messiah Sai Baba of India, and followed him for 2 years. (See his intriguing book, AVATAR OF NIGHT.)
.
I was a misguided, third-generation student of the Edgar Cayce readings. (*Cayce was once asked by a seeker, "Would a study of THE SECRET DOCTRINE be of benefit?" His answer in reading #470-10 was, "The study of any portion of same would be of benefit, but only in so far as it will enable the self to open for that which may be given in its meditation. Commence, and then we may aid." THE SECRET DOCTRINE, in case you don't know, is one of the premier New Age "bibles." It was channeled by the luciferian Theosophical Society-founder Helena Blavatsky and contains the frightening assertion that "the Great Serpent of the Garden of Eden and the 'Lord God' are identical." -- Vol. 2; pg. 132. You get that? Lucifer is god! Thanks for recommending a book containing that great truth, Edgar!)
.
Later, I spent 5 years intensely studying and practicing A COURSE IN MIRACLES. After nagging doubts forced me to appeal to Him for the Truth, imagine my chagrin at having Jesus Christ reveal to me in no uncertain terms that -- despite the clear-cut claim of A.C.I.M. -- He, Jesus, DID NOT dictate the Course and that it is actually a demonic deception! Not everyone's ego can admit to being duped after investing so much time and dedicating so much energy to a path; not everyone can go back to the drawing board despite the embarrassment. Brooke and I both deserve credit for that much at least.
.
I cannot concur with ONE WORLD in its totality, and a book of this nature desperately calls for an index, which unfortunately has not been provided. But don't think that I do not strongly suggest that you acquire, study, and take very, Very, VERY seriously Tal Brooke's book, because I certainly DO recommend it without reservation! This is one of the most important and penetrating books you could read about the times in which you live. Take me seriously, YOU!
.
"Imagine no possessions -- I wonder if you can -- No need for greed or hunger -- A brotherhood of Man", John Lennon sang in IMAGINE, a song he proudly described as "virtually a communist manifesto." But when Lennon died, his estate was worth many, many millions of dollars. For tax purposes, he owned Hereford Cows that he had never even seen. Like all Utopia salesmen, when he denounced private property, he meant YOUR private property, not his own. He wasn't practicing what he preached, but then they never do! It's Liberalism's trademark.
.
In the current issue of the Phoenix New Times is a review of the book THE SPACE BETWEEN THE STARS by Deborah Santana, wife of the famous Rock guitarist, Carlos. The article mentions that when she became pregnant in 1974, the couple's meditation guru, Sri Chinmoy, advised her to seek an abortion, which she did. This was the same Sri Chinmoy who served as the interfaith chaplain to The United Nations
.
It's a shame that this "guru" urging the nations of the world to seek Peace, Love, Understanding, and Equality, didn't urge that any of those great virtues be shown to the individual that Deborah Santana was Divinely ordained to carry in her body. That's because there is no real truth to the Utopia that the New Age promoters pay lip service to. These are simply hypocrites, figuratively (and sometimes maybe literally) selling their souls to demonic forces and selling their twisted idealism to undiscerning and unsuspecting men and women. Peace for the Earth will not come by a Rock star's manifesto, a guru's advice, or the appearance of a Maitreya. It will come only when The Son of God returns and brings it with Him, as promised.
.
Until then, do yourself a favor and purchase ONE WORLD if you want to see how the incestuous relationship between the Media's Talking Heads, International Bankers, Secular Humanists, "Progressive" Educators, New Age Gurus, The United Nations, American Politicians, Secret Societies, Fabian Socialists, Darwinists, Marxists, and Technology is working in concert to construct the New Age World Order -- the dark prince's inky social condition. (Even if all of these ideologues do not recognize their dark, spiritual benefactor.) 
.
And lest anyone be tempted to suspect that Brooke has reached conclusions that require a stretch of logic, he opens ONE WORLD with this succinct and transparent quote from Madeleine Albright's 1997 Harvard University commencement speech: "Today, I say that no nation in the world need be left out of the global system we are constructing." 
.
Do read Tal Brooke's somewhat futuristic book before it becomes merely a history book. This Brooke will carry you, the reader, to the stormy sea of the coming New World and then identify the sly sharks that swim in it, so that you will not make the mistake of becoming their chum.
.
~ Stephen T. McCarthy
.